DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > In-wall Timer for LED bulbs




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 05:11 PM  
ccpyue
Member
 
ccpyue's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 55
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default In-wall Timer for LED bulbs

've an In-wall 110V timer used to control 6 out-door halogen bulbs each of 35W. I recently changed all bulbs to LED which is only 3W each. Then the In-wall timer won't turn off the lights at set time. I called up the mfg, they said my LED bulbs won't have sufficient load to make the timer work, and told me to buy another type In-wall timer which cost $60-. I don't want to spend that $60- to replace the one year new timer , can I add loading to the timer to make it work. Such as by simply add a resistant to the power line before going in to the In-wall timer? or is there any other way to solve this problem? Thank you.


ccpyue is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:18 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,093
Liked 136 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Put one of the old bulbs back.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:45 AM  
ccpyue
Member
 
ccpyue's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 55
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Put one of the old bulbs back.
one good idea, but then one of the bulb light will be different from the other 5.
ccpyue is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:54 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,522
Liked 1354 Times on 1195 Posts
Likes Given: 2329

Default

http://www.timercentral.com/sylvania...-light-sensor/

You could plug your timer into one of this times that work on a photo cell.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 02:53 PM  
ccpyue
Member
 
ccpyue's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 55
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
http://www.timercentral.com/sylvania...-light-sensor/

You could plug your timer into one of this times that work on a photo cell.
But my timer is an hard-wired In-Wall timer.
ccpyue is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 03:04 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,522
Liked 1354 Times on 1195 Posts
Likes Given: 2329

Default

I don't know if there is something like that to hard wire in.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:12 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,522
Liked 1354 Times on 1195 Posts
Likes Given: 2329

Default

http://www.acetek.co.uk/sitebuilderc...optik12vdc.pdf
Depending on the voltage you could use something like this on the low voltage side.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 02:32 AM  
lesliemorris85
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 13
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

how did you solve this OP? I kinda have the same problem too…
lesliemorris85 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 12:24 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,502
Liked 511 Times on 390 Posts
Likes Given: 209

Default

Install an EXTERIOR photo-cell. Leave your interior timer alone (since it can't handle the situation) and install the new photo-cell in-line. It will activate as needed.

Problem solved.

http://www.watthackers.com/wp/instal...to-save-power/

CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:19 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,522
Liked 1354 Times on 1195 Posts
Likes Given: 2329

Default

I guess simple minds can think alike too. I just plugged one of these between the outlet and the timer, transformer on a plug in unit.


xmas photocell.jpg  
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Air Compressor Timer 69-er Electrical and Wiring 20 03-08-2014 01:07 PM
defrost timer Bob Krueger Refrigerators 1 08-11-2011 12:53 PM
Illuminated wall switch glows but bulbs won't light Paul in Maryland Electrical and Wiring 3 10-21-2007 08:34 AM
First Timer joannef01 Introductions 2 06-07-2007 08:24 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS