DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Remodeling studded house from the 20's




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2012, 09:00 PM  
Poorboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default Remodeling studded house from the 20's

Checking all my work before inspector is called in Michigan, can my ground and neutral connect in the same bus bar? New 100 amp box with two bus bars, both still connected, just wanna double check. Have whole house done, just checking. Also, do I have to staple wires to studs in wall, or just inder house along floor joists?



__________________
Poorboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 07:53 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 985
Liked 108 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

In the panel with the main disconnect you can put the grounds and neutrals in the same bus. One neutral per hole.
If the walls are open then staple or support every 4 feet. If fishing cable through already finished walls then you do not need to bust open the walls to staple.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 08:03 AM  
Poorboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you very much. I know that only one nuetral per hole (like you said), but what about adding a ground in the same hole with it?

__________________
Poorboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 08:55 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,221
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Do not add the ground to the same hole with the neutral.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 12:18 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 985
Liked 108 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Neutral must be one wire per hole. I should have said one wire instead of one neutral.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2012, 09:43 PM  
Poorboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328
Do not add the ground to the same hole with the neutral.
Thank you both very much. I am currently fighting to keep working on the studded home that I bought for xmas. I just finished mudding the drywall, now I have to tear down one interior and one exterior wall for them to inspect it all. I am from a state and area where there are no codes, this code stuff is really irritating. I have ran everything correctly except I have to seperate the wires in the box now. Thank you so much, I rwally appreciate the help. Hopefully I will be able to continue with the restoratiom and move in soon.


__________________
Poorboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking About Buying A Large House Houston Riverside Terrace Need Remodeling Ideas DJboutitot General Home Improvement Discussion 2 09-11-2010 12:49 AM
When remodeling, should all countertops match thoroughout the house? kaci General Home Improvement Discussion 6 03-30-2008 09:55 PM
OLD House in Need of Remodeling swgjim26 General Home Improvement Discussion 3 06-02-2007 01:24 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS