DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > junction in the service panel




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2012, 10:14 PM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
registry_dropdown_579_73949
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default junction in the service panel

Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel?


__________________
[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="3"][B]Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 09:45 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_73973
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,313
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Is it ok to have a wire nutted connection in the service panel? Yes


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:11 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_73976
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,421
Liked 463 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 194

Default

If the wire nutted splice is attached to a breaker, then it is OK. However, if the wire nutted connections are part of a pass-through, i.e., using the service panel as a junction box, then it is a big NO-NO.
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:58 AM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
registry_dropdown_579_73978
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

No It goes to a breaker. In classic newbie form I cut the wire too short. so I was going to splice in an extra 18" to make it around to the breaker.
__________________
[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="3"][B]Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:22 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_74014
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,421
Liked 463 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 194

Default

Everybody makes mistakes. :0) I came up shoty on a 22v line inside a garage one time. Had to put in a j-box. I prefer continuous wire for 220v but it is perfectly OK to use a j-box.

In your case, this pigtail is allowed and it should be no problem. As a personal practice, I tape the connection after applying the wire nut. Just guarantees no slippage.

Spark ON!
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:34 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_74015
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,313
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Just to be sure, you will have to use larger or same size wire to complete the run.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:58 PM  
Parrothead
Member
registry_dropdown_2838_74083
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , WI
Posts: 65
Likes Given: 1

Default

Happens a lot with service changes (even though I know this wasn't the case here). The wire is not long enough for the new panel, so your choices are to have j-boxes all around the new panel or make your splices in the new panel. You are fine.
Parrothead is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 06:07 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_74248
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
I prefer continuous wire for 220v but it is perfectly OK to use a j-box.
May I ask why? And what the voltage has to do with it??
Statements like this always puzzle me.


speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
do 150 amp service panel exist? turfgrass Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2011 07:36 AM
Service Panel Circuits zirkeithb Electrical and Wiring 1 08-15-2009 02:16 PM
Service panel connection. Hack Electrical and Wiring 16 01-02-2008 10:34 AM
Service/breaker panel capacity question... tenderton Electrical and Wiring 1 10-13-2006 05:08 AM
Service Panel onryx2 Electrical and Wiring 2 08-21-2006 07:18 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS