DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Splice Repair Inside Conduit




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2012, 12:30 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,309
Liked 409 Times on 319 Posts
Likes Given: 171

Default Splice Repair Inside Conduit

Was stumped about this: A newbie cut through the middle of a long run of some gray pipe (PVC) that had 14-2 stranded in it. The run will be buried in dirt and topped with 4" of concrete.

He wants to twist the wires back together and wire nut them plus tape. The gray pipe is going to be glued together at all the connecting points.

Can he do this?



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 01:22 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,980
Liked 964 Times on 857 Posts
Likes Given: 1650

Default

We spent a week trying to get that answer, and I think the deal was maybe if it's not metal conduit and the join didn't use a certain persentage of the pipe but nobody would say yes and put their name on it so it got new wire.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 10:32 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 991
Liked 109 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

NO you can't. Two reasons.
You can't splice inside conduit.
You can't glue conduit with wire in it. You have to pull the wires after gluing.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2012, 07:01 AM  
NorthernSparky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Likes Given: 1

Default

The splice inside the pipe is a no no. Any splice or connection has to have an access point. If its a long run that you don't wanna buy new wire to pull out can always add a weather proof box but this cannot be covered and needs to remain accessible at all times.

__________________
NorthernSparky is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 11:39 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,309
Liked 409 Times on 319 Posts
Likes Given: 171

Default

I told Newbie to pull it and replace the run. Not that bad, actually. Lesson learned.

BTW, since this run was going to be under concrete, the weather proof box was NOT an option. Whatreally did it for me was the outside possibility of water getting in the pipe somehow. I did not want the potential for a short underground.

Thanks to everyone for your thoughtful responses.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 02:34 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 991
Liked 109 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Water will always get into a buried conduit. If not from leakage then from condensation.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2012, 01:04 AM  
TGMcCallie
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Flintstone, GA
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Water will always get into a buried conduit. If not from leakage then from condensation.
Use wire inside the pvc piping that is rated for underground use. You will be just adding to your safety.
__________________
TGMcCallie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2012, 10:52 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 991
Liked 109 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TGMcCallie View Post
Use wire inside the pvc piping that is rated for underground use. You will be just adding to your safety.

It is also required by code to use wire rated for wet locations.


__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
SPT-1W in conduit? captflx Electrical and Wiring 0 03-30-2012 02:07 PM
Why is conduit not used? pawned79 Electrical and Wiring 15 08-11-2011 02:02 PM
conduit under sidewalk sailor86 Electrical and Wiring 1 11-30-2010 09:03 PM
Porch Roof -> Splice Rafter tail? mscott821 Roofing and Siding 3 08-27-2010 06:19 PM
Splice boxes through access panel okay? skopper Electrical and Wiring 1 09-04-2006 10:13 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS