DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Old ungrounded two-prong outlets




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 08:12 AM  
D725A
Member
registry_dropdown_18000_74751
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Old ungrounded two-prong outlets

Parents have a 1950s house in NY; most of the electrical outlets are the old two-prong, ungrounded type. The cable is old romex type with no third wire, so the ground screw of each receptacle is unconnected. When the outlet is tested it comes up 'open ground'. Been this way for years with no incident. Except that nowadays things are done much more safely. (As you all know in even older houses, if the cable is BX, a ground is available from the shielding.)

As the house will be sold in a few years, I asked the electrician about the cost of converting all the outlets, and it's quite expensive. The new owners can certainly deal with this. If I was going to buy a house and knew that I'd have to start chopping almost every wall in the house to put through new lines at signficant cost that might make me hesitate.

What are the potential safety hazards here?(Years ago some electrician must have installed about a dozen 'false' three-way receptacles, which come in handy for certain appliances with the three prongs.) One we can remove the false three-prong receptacles or two we can bring the house up to date or three leave it all alone and let the new owners deal with it.

Note: a number of strategic outlets are grounded but vast majority are not.


D725A is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:52 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_74752
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,326
Liked 145 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

I would go with options 1 & 3.


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:27 PM  
NorthernSparky
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_27773_74761
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Likes Given: 1

Default

I would just leave the whole system alone, especially if you have no plans on keeping the house. The dozen or so receptacles that were replaced, are not hurting anything, they are just not doing anything either.
NorthernSparky is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:36 PM  
D725A
Member
registry_dropdown_18000_74763
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Thanks for the replies. I guess from reading the other threads on this subject, it would seem that the replaced false three-prongs should at least be labeled 'no equipment ground present'.
D725A is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:40 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_74764
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,175
Liked 1304 Times on 1147 Posts
Likes Given: 2206

Default

When sold, the house will be ready for a face lift anyway so a few thousand kick back to the buyer will work. If your worried about safety for your parents you could install a few gfi plugs, they will work on two wire.
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:05 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_74766
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,469
Liked 488 Times on 376 Posts
Likes Given: 202

Default

Modern electronics are sensitive to no grounding, particularly in lightening-prone areas. That includes computers, flat screen TVs, and all the other toys. The cost of wall chopping and re-wiring is expensive so you have to weigh the risk against the possibility of a catastropic failure.

Tough call in your case.
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:32 PM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
registry_dropdown_579_74767
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I have a house that is 1950's and so no grounded outlets (except for a few in the kitchen grounded with a 14GA wire run outside the romex) I was told by my friend (licensed electrician) that replacing those outlets with a GFCI is acceptable. Still no ground so should be labeled as such, but a convenience.
__________________
[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="3"][B]Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:48 AM  
NorthernSparky
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_27773_74787
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Likes Given: 1

Default

If you are going to install GFCI, just know they are for protecting that plug and all devices down the line. If you put more than 1 GFCI on a circuit they are going to trip off each other.

The only reason I said to leave it alone is that once you start changing plugs and such, your system is no longer in the grandfather clause (it was done to code in the 1950's and that stand until anything is updated).

If you are going to do anything do it right and have a licensed electrician pull the entire house, upgrade the panel and I would assume change the service.


NorthernSparky is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 2 prong outlet + wires might have been switched jeffcarlson1 Electrical and Wiring 12 12-15-2011 08:27 AM
How do I replace 2-prong cord with grounded cord? SphericalCamel Electrical and Wiring 9 02-05-2010 09:10 AM
how many outlets can 1 GFI protect SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 4 12-11-2008 11:52 AM
Converting two prong to three prong plugs heavyfoot Electrical and Wiring 3 07-12-2006 10:24 PM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 02:14 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS