bathroom remodel cost

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BathroomRemodel

Reaction score
I bought a house and am new to home ownership but my house was built in 1900s and it doesnt have a shower. It has a tub and I would like to put in a shower the pipes run directly below the tub and to save costs keep the original tub.

It also doesnt have an exhaust fan there is no light in the ceiling but there is a light above the medicine cabinet. I would have to put in an exhaust fan in the ceiling has nothing.

It also has a window above the tub that I would like to replace and put some type of waterproof window or glass blocks with a shower curtain. or the cheapest ideas you can think of.

I am just looking to update the bathroom with a simple no frills shower nothing fancy. I am new to home ownership and have always rented so I have no idea what fair pricing would be. Could someone tell me what I expect to pay I realize different states different prices but just a close estimate. I am contacting contractors and I think I am going to get ripped off. Thank you

The cheapest way is not always the answer. How old is the plumbing and how much work to bring it up to date. If you have to tile a suround, do you want to spend that money over an old tub. How will a new window effect the look from the outside. Is there attic space above or another floor?

I am with nealtw that it's not about cheapest way. You need to set budget first and then plan things accordingly. There are several things in your project which cost may vary. Just plan a rough estimate of all things and then start your bathroom remodeling.