Trusses supported by hangers on laminate beam

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guyod

Reaction score
Hi

I am a contractor experienced in standard framing. I have a framing idea that is not standard. I am planning on making an addition to my living room. It will be a reverse A frame cathedral 16' wide 12' deep. The whole 16' will be open into the house with a post off center at 4'. I want it to be as open as possible. I have an idea to move the header up higher. Cut off the over hang on the trusses and attach the beam at the cut off with floor joists hangers. It is fairly large common trusses 35' span. I dont see why it wouldn't work but i have not seen it done so i wanted a 2nd opinion. The only issue i can see is that the corners of the beam will be sticking above the of the addition roof at the ends. Depending on how much of the corner sticks up i may have to drop the beam a little. Is there guide lines on how much of the corner can be cut off? The beam will most likely be on the outside of the existing house supported by the addition foundation.

Does any one see any other issues with this?

Thanks

When adjusting trusses, our inspecters would send you off for an engineers report.
Cutting the top of the beam would likely not be allowed. The truss company could check your trusses and supply proper hangers and maybe engineer the beam. Or have them build a gerder truss instead of a beam, it could have tapered ends.
You are likely going to hand frame your roof, I would have them build the valley set to go over the original trusses, they are so easy.

Thanks
I dont see how cutting off the overhang of a truss is structually adjusting it but i have heard inspectors say crazier things. I did some more research and found out that simpson makes a special truss hanger. It is shorter but very heavy duty. 10 nails on each side into the beam.