DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > generator . my dryer 240 is a 3 wire. do i have to make it a 4 wire?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 04:06 AM  
mrcoffee36
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default generator . my dryer 240 is a 3 wire. do i have to make it a 4 wire?

Im in NJ with no power but i do have a generator. was thinking of adding a outlet to plug in my generator. The dryer outlet is a 3 wire but the new twist lock outlet is a 4 wire outlet. Do i have to run a new 4 wire line from box. if so how do i do that?


mrcoffee36 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:27 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,096
Liked 138 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You have to install a proper transfer switch or main panel interlock system. Your dryer receptacle has no influence on a generator connection.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:02 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,812
Liked 1400 Times on 1234 Posts
Likes Given: 2410

Default

Joe: He is not connected to house he just wants to run a cord to the dryer.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:57 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,096
Liked 138 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I read it as he wants to use a suicide cord and plug his generator into the dryer receptacle to power his house.
If he actually want to run the dryer off the generator then a three prong dryer plug installed on the end of the extension cord will work. Leave the white neutral wire disconnected. Since the generator should have the neutral/ground bonded the dryer should run fine.

Last edited by JoeD; 11-01-2012 at 12:04 PM.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:07 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 168 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
I read it as he wants to use a suicide cord and plug his generator into the dryer receptacle to power his house.
That's how I read it.

This same type hookup may be in my future if my PoCo doesn't improve their reliability. Generator hookup constraints & rules & Fine Print Notes are scattered all over the NEC.

The general rule seems to be sizing neutral and ground conductors properly for fault conditions and not putting heavy current into these conductors because this will cause a voltage on them substantially above ground potential.

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 11-01-2012 at 12:10 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:09 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,812
Liked 1400 Times on 1234 Posts
Likes Given: 2410

Default

Now that I read it again I think you are right.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:20 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 168 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
Now that I read it again I think you are right.
I forgot to mention that it would not be a bad idea to run some tests on a house before hooking up a generator to make sure the wiring is what everyone thinks it is.

With a 10A, 120v load (room heater) or 240v load (wall oven) and a DVM you can check for bad neutrals, bad grounds, bad connections, whatever.

I will probably be coming in a window with the cord and tap into the nearest branch circuit with its breaker off.

BTW, a gasoline gen should be at least 15' from the house.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:37 PM  
notmrjohn
Obnoxious Knowitalll
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 251
Liked 25 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

"suicide cord and plug his generator into the dryer receptacle to power his house."
The operable word here is suicide.
Other than that this question is not much different than hooking new four wire appliance to old three wire receptacle.
Gonna be way easier and safer to connect generator at breaker box in normal manner.
Not really sure what to do with 4 wire neutral and ground in this "backwards" 3 wire situation. Seems like you're gonna be running one wire back to panel or earth anyway. white or green/bare. Generator should have its own true "ground" to earth.
__________________
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Measure twice, cut once.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.[/FONT][/CENTER]
notmrjohn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:19 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,096
Liked 138 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

That is why I stand by my original post about a proper transfer switch or interlock system.
JoeD is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:49 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 168 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
That is why I stand by my original post about a proper transfer switch or interlock system.
Or judicious use of overcurrent devices to prevent operator error. With low impedance systems like this the difference between normal current and current due to operator error should be considerable.


Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Cooktop four wire to three wire satish Electrical and Wiring 2 06-03-2011 06:16 PM
What should I do with this wire? DavieGravy Electrical and Wiring 4 08-16-2010 06:12 PM
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 09:18 PM
how do I wire this? pixeltarian Electrical and Wiring 23 03-10-2010 09:39 PM
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 07:02 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS