DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Plumbing Forum > Electric WH - no heat?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2013, 07:14 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_92209
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,419
Liked 463 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 194

Default Electric WH - no heat?

Changed out an electric WH that stopped producing hot water ... Intsalled a new GE model ... 50 gallons, 220VAC, 30A circuit.

All connections done -- it has water. Checked for live circuit, proper ground.
Checked for current at the block inside the WH ... it is live.

NO HEAT being generated.

Ideas?? I am stumped ...


CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 08:10 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_92211
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

Both wires have 120 volts to ground? One side of a double breaker not working?


nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:17 AM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
registry_dropdown_15773_92225
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6,781
Liked 651 Times on 534 Posts
Likes Given: 205

Default

What about an adjustable thermostat set low? Just a thought. And did you try pushing the reset button?
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:15 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_92228
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,419
Liked 463 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 194

Default

Thanks guys ... I set the thermostat to 135 by adjusting the set screw. Located and pushed the reset button, although there was no light (is there a light behind the button?).

I am going to check the lines with a clamp meter to check voltage on each leg. However, I did register current with a tickler on both sides PLUS I checked for current at the wiring block inside the WH and it was live on both sides.
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:20 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_92229
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

You needed to check both wires before the switch was connected or turned on.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:32 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_92237
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,419
Liked 463 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 194

Default

Thanks, Neal ... Before wiring the WH, I did check the separate wires for the presence of current but I did NOT curck with the clamp meter for voltage. That is where I am starting.

However, one would expect SOME kind of heating even with only 1/2 of the power present in the unit. The hetaing elements would be under-charged but producing some heat ...
crying-baby.jpg  
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:57 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_92240
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

If you have power on both, and no heat the upper element or upper thermistat may have a problem. What was wrong with the old tank?
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:13 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
registry_dropdown_15773_92248
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6,781
Liked 651 Times on 534 Posts
Likes Given: 205

Default

We'll... Got hot water?
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:27 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_92249
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,419
Liked 463 Times on 357 Posts
Likes Given: 194

Default

Sorry for the delay guys ... I do not work on Sunday.
I will be after it at 0600 tomorrow and on the line with the service techs. Will let you know how it turns out ...

Stand by ... News at 11:00PM or sometime Monday.
Ainsley.jpg  
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:42 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_92250
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,054
Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You need to check the voltage wire to wire, not wire to ground. You could get voltage from each wire to ground and still not have 240 volts.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Pump Aux. heat running too often. OIIIIIIIO HVAC 13 02-26-2012 09:13 PM
Thermostat says heat, but no heat vjf HVAC 4 01-03-2012 07:17 AM
Hot water heat: zone doesn't run unless another zone is also calling for heat operagost HVAC 4 11-11-2011 11:41 AM
Electric Heat Pump Vs. Natural Gas LifesPeachy HVAC 1 07-30-2011 07:07 AM
Electric Heat Pump & Programmable Thermostat John Greeb HVAC 2 01-09-2009 09:01 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS