DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Need help with switched outlets

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2013, 12:46 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Default Need help with switched outlets

We have two outlets (one of each side of the sofa) in the room operated by one switch. The top outlets on both are controlled by the switch. The bottom outlets in both are always hot.

My husband changed the outlets and switch and now the switch does not operate anything. All outlets are always hot. He says he wired them the same way they were....but obviously not .

Can you help us?

glasshut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:40 PM  
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 14,660
Liked 1488 Times on 1313 Posts
Likes Given: 2610


He missed one step, he wired two black wires to the two brass screws. there is a little a little tab that joins the two screws, that little tab needs to be broke out and then the switch will control one.
And welcome to the site.

nealtw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 04:13 PM  
Supporting Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,375
Liked 152 Times on 129 Posts
Likes Given: 71


Take a close look at the difference on the side of the old outlet compared to the one you installed.
And yes, welcome to the site
kok328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 04:18 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2

Umm can't see anything joining the screws on either the old switch or the new. That area is covered by a shield (box) that is riveted in place, so can't see between the screws. The only thing sticking out are the screws themselves. ( I know what you mean though about the link between the screws, we just can't get to it without tearing up the switch.)

P.S. Thanks for the welcome. Finding so many interesting things. Hubby may be sorry after I tell him all the diy stuff I'm finding.
glasshut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 05:14 PM  
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,131
Liked 153 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 5


The link is not on the switch. It is on the receptacle. Perhaps you need to buy a better quality receptacle that will allow you to break the tab. The ones for less that $1.00 are cheap garbage.
JoeD is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 06:15 PM  
CallMeVilla's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,541
Liked 539 Times on 411 Posts
Likes Given: 219


Watch this simple video ... He works VERY fast but he indicates the tab was cut to create a separate 1/2 hot and always hot situation.

Here are two pics showing the BRASS side of the receptacle where the tab needs to be broken:

Recep Tab.jpg   RECEP TAB 3.jpg  

Last edited by CallMeVilla; 10-29-2013 at 06:24 PM.
CallMeVilla is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
AC won't turn on unless fan switched turned to ON from AUTO trefilov22 HVAC 3 07-12-2012 10:38 PM
Switched receptacle confusion leon99 Electrical and Wiring 3 02-15-2010 08:20 AM
Restoring a hot switched outlet... JackB_Nymble Electrical and Wiring 6 09-08-2009 05:48 PM
Switched Lights in an Outlet Circuit drewje Electrical and Wiring 5 07-21-2009 11:57 PM
FYI: Switched from R-22 to HF-22a bondo HVAC 2 09-23-2005 12:54 PM

Newest Threads