DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > What's that big black pipe thingy in my attic?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2013, 10:51 AM  
New2HomeRepair
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default What's that big black pipe thingy in my attic?

Hello All,
As you can tell by my username, I'm new to this DIY house repair stuff.
Ok, there's my newbie question:

After 9 years of living in my newly built home I decided to check out the extra space in the "attic" space, above my garage. It's surprisingly clean and and even has electricity with a light bulb and everything...Who Knew?

So, I decided to store some of my stuff (plastic boxes with Holiday, stuff. Not humans or pets or anything that has to well...live) up there to make more room for other stuff I'm sure I don't need, but want to keep anyway.
There's my dilemma:
WHAT is the big Black Pipe (~3-4 in diameter) running through the attic?
And IS IT DANGEROUS?

Click image for larger version

Name:	20131102_161416.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	5670

Click image for larger version

Name:	20131102_161409.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	5671

Click image for larger version

Name:	20131102_161340.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	5672

Click image for larger version

Name:	20131102_161335.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	5673

Click image for larger version

Name:	20131102_161331.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	5674

There is this "RADON ALERT" thing (hopefully everyone can see the pics I downloaded) that really has me concerned.
I'm worried if we hit it with a box, the house is going to explode or fill the house with "radon" or something! lol

Thanks for any advice anyone can give me!
Have a great day.
PS: If the pics didn't download correctly, I'll try again (I'm as bad with computers as I am with home repair. )


New2HomeRepair is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 11:58 AM  
bmg97
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

It goes into the foundation floor and pulls the radon from the ground and out through the roof into the air. Hitting it will not do anything but disconnection will cause an issue.


bmg97 is offline  
New2HomeRepair Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 02:04 PM  
New2HomeRepair
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks so much for your reply.
Now that we're not afraid of exploding ourselves and/or the neighborhood if we touch that pipe, we are thinking of putting a "floor" on top of the studs, so we can walk in it.
So now I'm off to the "how do you put a floor on top of attic studs so you can walk on it" thread! lol
Thanks again and enjoy your weekend!
New2HomeRepair is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 05:51 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,514
Liked 517 Times on 396 Posts
Likes Given: 211

Default

Yes, you can lay sections of plywood in the attic across (perpendicular to) multiple joists (those stick things you can kneel on). Use common sense ... DO NOT lay the plywood over wires which run on top of the stick things. Pinching those wires is a bad thing.

It is best to use screws to attach the plywood. Hammering could damage your ceiling underneath. A battery powered dril-driver makes this an easy task.

Here is a good video primer:
http://www.todayshomeowner.com/video...-attic/#tabs-1
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:43 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,265
Liked 187 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 471

Default well

The problem is never laying plywood across a joist...but those are Trusses...which should never have additional weight installed across the 2 x4 bottom cord.
Just my opinion of course.
__________________
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
bud16415 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 11:27 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 2,100
Liked 664 Times on 514 Posts
Likes Given: 250

Default

Those look like 2x4 trusses spaced 24” OC. Putting a few strips on there for use during access would be ok, but if your plan is storage space not a good idea IMHO. If you want to do some work up there insulation might be a better idea.
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 09:55 AM  
Rockrz
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 81
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmg97 View Post
It goes into the foundation floor and pulls the radon from the ground and out through the roof into the air. Hitting it will not do anything but disconnection will cause an issue.
What is "Radon" that needs to be pulled from the ground (like, from under the concrete foundation, or is this house pier and beam?)

Wuz jus curious as to whassup wit dat
Rockrz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 06:56 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 14,179
Liked 1446 Times on 1275 Posts
Likes Given: 2491

Default

I'm with Bud on this one. Where is the insulation?
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:01 PM  
oldognewtrick
Lost And Found Dept
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,411
Liked 748 Times on 613 Posts
Likes Given: 235

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw
I'm with Bud on this one. Where is the insulation?
This is attic over a garage. Guess they don't need or want insulation.
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:07 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 14,179
Liked 1446 Times on 1275 Posts
Likes Given: 2491

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldognewtrick View Post
This is attic over a garage. Guess they don't need or want insulation.
That would explain that, thanks


nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown cement?pipe in attic Vanmaterb General Home Improvement Discussion 3 09-16-2013 08:29 PM
Black pipe for water maverick Plumbing Forum 6 05-01-2013 02:50 PM
My THINGY is leaking! Packy Plumbing Forum 13 02-22-2010 03:54 PM
Pressure Testing Black Pipe jmol Plumbing Forum 3 11-05-2008 10:37 AM
stove - 50 amp White Red Black Black Conduit - 3 hot? where's green? sholleran Electrical and Wiring 9 01-30-2008 12:58 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS