DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > trying to understand my boiler, what is the difference between these zone boards?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2014, 06:41 PM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 411
Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 96

Default trying to understand my boiler, what is the difference between these zone boards?

Kind of a vague question, i have been troubleshooting my thermostats and i had some questions on why i have two separate zone boards. This boils down to i was told to make sure i have relays on my thermostats and i see two out of the three zones, but the one without a relay has some temp settings.

Can someone help me out and explain the difference between the two zone boards? thanks



2014-01-07 19.10.11.jpg   2014-01-07 19.08.21.jpg  
__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2014, 08:42 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Post schematics. They may be pasted on the inside of a panel somewhere.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2014, 11:19 AM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 411
Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 96

Default

This was the only one i found, thanks

2014-01-07 19.10.48.jpg  
__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2014, 11:35 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,338
Liked 399 Times on 311 Posts
Likes Given: 130

Default

I’m no heating guy but the top photo looks to be the control for your boiler and the bottom photo is the relay outputs for your two pumps each being controlled by a separate thermostat. I see two pairs of thermostat wires coming in and two power leads going out to the pumps red and brown and a common. Power coming in on the orange and yellow it looks like with a neutral.

I don’t see anything plugged into the third relay for zone 3. Do you have 2 or 3 zones and how many thermostats?

on edit

Looking at it a bit more I see a curly wire coming into the top box that’s a thermostat wire also. Could maybe the basic hi / low control box be able to control just one zone and then you add a lower box depending on how many zones you need in addition.

Just guessing here but maybe your house started out single zone and then someone wanted to break it up or extend it and the other box was added.

The upper box with the temp settings I’m sure is controlling all the zones temperature wise.

__________________

Last edited by bud16415; 01-08-2014 at 11:46 AM.
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2014, 01:06 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

What HVAC symptom/problem are you pursuing?

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2014, 08:44 PM  
drewdin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 411
Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 96

Default

i have a NEST thermostat, is uses the 24vac supplied by the zone controller for power. I was having some issues where it was getting a low battery and disconnecting from the internet.

I found that it was faulty firmware and after an update it it started working fine. There tech support had me checking for relays and checking the voltage, etc... and it was just a programming error on their end...

__________________
drewdin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2014, 10:15 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

I'm keeping my 1982 ~80% efficient furnace for as long as I can because I cannot possibly repair the newer ones.
It also helps that the maker sent me a factory manual (for free, on request) and that this furnace uses relay logic with no computer/CPU.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
Blue Jay Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
What's the difference? havasu Painting Forum 9 09-25-2013 08:29 PM
Is there a difference katrinda Electrical and Wiring 13 02-23-2012 01:42 AM
Please help me understand if I need a custom door drew2000 Windows and Doors 17 11-26-2011 10:37 AM
Hot water heat: zone doesn't run unless another zone is also calling for heat operagost HVAC 4 11-11-2011 12:41 PM
Cost difference.... powrofone HVAC 2 06-06-2006 12:00 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS