DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > CRT TV Problem




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2014, 05:21 AM  
Freitas
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Default CRT TV Problem

Hi folks,

I'm new to this forum. So, my name is Rui Freitas and I'm from Portugal.

I have a crt tv with a problem. If none of sources is connected to it the tv turn off a second after I turn on and If I try to use any of two scart sources sometimes the image doesn't appear or the sound but after a few seconds the tv turns off. It seems like the tv only remains on if it were connected to aerial.

It is a Sayno tv, I really don't know the model right now but I can get it tomorrow.

So, if anyone could help I will be much appreciated.

Cheers.


Freitas is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 10:22 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,096
Liked 138 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Flat panels are so cheap now it would be advisable to just replace it.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 12:16 PM  
Freitas
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah I know that but we are a university community house group and we don't want to spend any money you know?

So we want try to fix ourselves..

I already did a huge search on the web and i found some folks that for a specific model say like "man change this cap" or something like that and the problem is solved.

So if anyone could help me, I will appreciated or at least if anyone could indicate a more suitable site/forum for this problem.

Cheers
Freitas is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 01:03 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,219
Liked 720 Times on 591 Posts
Likes Given: 230

Default

Try contacting Sanyo customer service and explain your problem to them, I'm sure they will be more than happy to help you.

http://panasonic.net/sanyo/cs/europe.html
oldognewtrick is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 04:34 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 168 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freitas View Post
If none of sources is connected to it the tv turn off a second after I turn on and If I try to use any of two scart sources sometimes the image doesn't appear or the sound but after a few seconds the tv turns off.

It seems like the tv only remains on if it were connected to aerial.
Having fixed many radios and TVs, I can't imagine how this is possible. Sorry.

"Amongst its other meanings, Rui is a common Portuguese first name, also spelled Ruy and cognate with Roderick and Rodrick."

This forum continues to teach me things.

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 05-11-2014 at 04:37 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 10:48 AM  
WyrTwister
Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 40
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freitas View Post
Hi folks,

I'm new to this forum. So, my name is Rui Freitas and I'm from Portugal.

I have a crt tv with a problem. If none of sources is connected to it the tv turn off a second after I turn on and If I try to use any of two scart sources sometimes the image doesn't appear or the sound but after a few seconds the tv turns off. It seems like the tv only remains on if it were connected to aerial.

It is a Sayno tv, I really don't know the model right now but I can get it tomorrow.

So, if anyone could help I will be much appreciated.

Cheers.
In the USA , we do not have scart connections on our TV's ? Unless they are called by another term ?

So I am clueless .

Your research indicated you should change / replace a capacitor ? If so , there are no doubt a lot of capacitors in your TV ? Did they indicate which one ?

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 12:00 PM  
slownsteady
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 2,727
Liked 455 Times on 373 Posts
Likes Given: 696

Default

Some TVs try to be eco friendly but shutting off when they are not being used. If you have no input source, the TV might think you are shutting down for the night and turns itself off. The trick for you is to get to the menu settings before the TV shuts off

First, connect any source you can - maybe even a VCR - and make sure that it is also powered on. This may allow the TV to stay on until you can find a menu setting to adjust that function (may be called "auto-off" or "energy saver mode" or something like that). But if the TV stays on when you connect a source, maybe you don't need to adjust the settings. It can be a good thing if you think about it.

If you decide to go inside the TV and look for a bad capacitor remember - DO NOT TOUCH THE BACK OF THE PICTURE TUBE. The shock will send you flying.
slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 12:28 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 168 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

If you are able to find the right capacitor by chance then you have used up your entire lifetime allotment of luck so be careful after that.


Wuzzat? is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Main Line Sewerage Connector Pipe Problem? Sewer Problem? labb_sleuth Plumbing Forum 3 08-09-2012 04:44 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS