DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > Refrigerators > Whirlpool conquest




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2014, 12:58 AM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
registry_dropdown_31501_105715
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Southern California
Posts: 1,992
Liked 314 Times on 234 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default Whirlpool conquest

I have a whirlpool conquest side x side that is probably ten years old or more. The ice maker went from working fine to making ice and not stopping. It over filled the catch. I turned the ice maker off and now it won't turn back on or make any ice. This was a year or so ago. It would be nice to have ice again without buying a new fridge. Anyone have any idea what could be wrong?




Sent from my iPhone using Home Repair


Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 08:07 AM  
jeff1
Contractor
 
jeff1's Avatar
registry_dropdown_736_105725
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 458
Liked 32 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Hi,

Quote:
I have a whirlpool conquest side x side that is probably ten years old or more
Model#?
http://www.applianceaid.com/model-number.php

Quote:
It over filled the catch
?Catch?

Quote:
I turned the ice maker off and now it won't turn back on or make any ice.
What happens when you turned it back on? Sits there dead, is running but not filling? Anybody checked for power to the icemaker?

Quote:
This was a year or so ago
Sometimes the fill tube can get ice in it, esp when sitting for so long.



jeff.


__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
http://www.applianceaid.com/
jeff1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 09:17 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
registry_dropdown_17632_105727
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 168 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
The ice maker went from working fine to. . .not stopping.
I'd say the limit switch that is actuated by the wire bail [generic name, with shutoff arm being a specific name ]

http://www.google.com/search?q=bail&...ay%3B500%3B500

that senses when the ice container is full has failed, but Jeff1 is way more knowledgeable.

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 06-01-2014 at 09:23 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 01:56 PM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
registry_dropdown_31501_105734
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Southern California
Posts: 1,992
Liked 314 Times on 234 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

Catch = ice pail thing

Turn it on nothing happens at all.

Fill tube seems clear and fine


Sent from my iPhone using Home Repair
Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 08:06 PM  
jeff1
Contractor
 
jeff1's Avatar
registry_dropdown_736_105748
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 458
Liked 32 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Fill tube seems clear and fine
Good.

Quote:
Turn it on nothing happens at all


Did you find the model#?
If you have a module style ice maker, Test points L & N will verify 120 volts to Ice Maker module.
(Make sure your test probes go into the test points 1/2".)

jeff.
__________________
Appliance Repair Aid
http://www.applianceaid.com/
jeff1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 09:37 PM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
registry_dropdown_31501_105758
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Southern California
Posts: 1,992
Liked 314 Times on 234 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

I will get the model number tomorrow, had it all covered up today doing some drywall work.


Sent from my iPhone using Home Repair
Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 10:46 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_105762
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,184
Liked 1307 Times on 1150 Posts
Likes Given: 2211

Default

When you turned off last year, did you turn off supply water under the sink?
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 10:55 PM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
registry_dropdown_31501_105764
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Southern California
Posts: 1,992
Liked 314 Times on 234 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

No just the switch inside the freezer door. The water still works fine through the door.


Sent from my iPhone using Home Repair


Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Stopper for Whirlpool tub 1stTimeDIY Plumbing Forum 6 01-20-2014 06:51 PM
Making a whirlpool tub into a shower LISAinTN General Home Improvement Discussion 8 02-07-2013 05:32 PM
Whirlpool Ice Dispenser not working Blue Jay Refrigerators 3 07-21-2012 08:47 PM
Whirlpool MH7130XEZ2 ssruindia General Appliance Discussion 1 01-13-2008 10:36 AM
Wondering about whirlpool tubs.... whirlpool_wonderer General Home Improvement Discussion 2 04-17-2007 07:16 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS