DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Tandem breakers...what's the catch?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2007, 03:32 PM  
Quattro
Massive Tool Belt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 262
Default Tandem breakers...what's the catch?

Hey all,

I'm putting in a sub-panel tonight so I can run a few more circuits to the kitchen. I bought a SquareD QO panel that says it can hold 6-12 circuits. Now, I count 8 slots in the panel, but realize they want 2 left open for some reason.

Question is, are there any drawbacks to using tandem breakers? These are the half-size breakers molded into the same "shell", and only take up 1 space. They make sense, but I just don't know what the negatives are...if any.

Anyway, thanks for any info!



__________________
Quattro is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2007, 04:00 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

I'm in a similar situation. If you find anything out let me know. I have 3 installed on my current panel and I would like to add 2 more to free up an extra two spaces to run a 220v. I have heard that there is info. on the panel that says what you can do, but I looked and my panel didn't have any info.



__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2007, 04:46 PM  
Kerrylib
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 157
Default

I think the 2 slots to be left open are to install a double pole breaker that will work as a shutoff for that subpanel. Flip that one and kill the whole box.

Here's the Square D catalog info on QO breakers. Says that tandem breakers can only be installed in certain positions on the panel.
Best to understand exactly how mfgr states they can be used

http://ecatalog.squared.com/techlib/...01&action=view

From what I've heard, the smaller breakers have less room to dissapate heat and can therefore fail more easily. If the box isn't sized for the extra circuits, you can exceed fill capacity, run out of neutrals, etc.

Seems that they are a way to squeeze just one more circuit into the older installations so you don't have to upgrade the entire service.

__________________

Last edited by Kerrylib; 02-05-2007 at 05:04 PM.
Kerrylib is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2007, 05:45 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 992
Liked 109 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

There are no drawbacks when they are installed and used properly.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2007, 03:12 PM  
bobthebuilder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default

hi everybody,

i am new to this forum, my question is:

we have a 200 A breaker box, we put in a 125 A breaker to go to subpanel
in that subpanel we 5 breakers installed
1 60A breaker to handle 2ton air handler
1 60A breaker to handle 4 ton air handler/heatstrip
1 60A breaker to handle 4 ton air handler
1 40A breaker to handle 4 ton heat pump
1 30A breaker to handle 2 ton heat pump

the problem we have is when we turn on the 4 ton airhandler/heatstrip it pops the breaker.

my question is can i increase the 60A breaker to a higher one or do i need another 200A breaker box to take care of all the breakers in the subpanel?
thank you for your answers and help.

__________________
bobthebuilder is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2007, 05:42 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hey there Bob, Welcome to the Forum:
You have a pretty good load in that subpanel and I don't know how much it is rated for. What I do know is, if you go to a higher amperage breaker for the heat strip you will also need larger wire to feed the heat strip. There are others on here that can take you much deeper into the subject than I can.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Ganged circuit breakers Outbacker Electrical and Wiring 15 01-27-2014 09:25 PM
turning off circuit breakers for a long period of time jmjoseph Electrical and Wiring 2 07-27-2006 11:51 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS