DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Any tips...running 14/3 in tight spot.




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2007, 11:06 AM  
lonestarshack
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_3632_9702
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Default Any tips...running 14/3 in tight spot.

I was wondering if any of you DIY'ers out there have any tips for me. I have installed two new ceiling fans on my outside porch and I've got everything done except for the two runs of 14/3 to the switches. The wall where I want to put the switches is in the corner of the house and also where a vaulted ceiling corner is. Thus, when I try to get to that location to drop the 14/3, I can't even get close from the attic. I really don't want to tear out the sheetrock where the switch is to get this done and are looking for any kind of tips. This is a single story.

Thanks in advance.


lonestarshack is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 06:20 PM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
registry_dropdown_579_9708
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

try from the bottom up. It's a big PIA but what can you do. When I redid my bath running wire for the switch took as long as the plumbing


__________________
[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="3"][B]Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 07:01 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
registry_dropdown_456_9709
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I have actually removed a bit of roofing, cut an access through the decking and worked wire down a wall from there. Another PITA, but if you brace the splice when you reinstall the roofing, no one will ever know
__________________
[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]
Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 09:18 AM  
Quattro
Massive Tool Belt
registry_dropdown_2381_9718
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 262
Default

I hate working in the attic...it's always too hot or too cold, not to mention dusty and a little dangerous.

In my kitchen remodel, I have had to run several new circuits from the basement. The hardest part is finding the bottom plate of the wall in which you want the circuit run. Once you find that, you just drill a hole coming up through the basement ceiling and fish the wire up. It helps to have another person waiting at the switch location to grab the cable as you push it up.

Much easier than going through the attic...but if you have a finished basement, you have no choice but to break drywall or roof.
Quattro is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 05:05 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_630_9733
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome Lonestarshack:
Do you have access to the porch attic? Could you drill through the outside of the wall only from the attic? Maybe the studs are not enclosed at all in the porch attic and you could run the wire down from there. Square Eye taught me to bend a hook in the end of the wire and use a stiff wire (single #9) with a hook in the end of it to catch the wire you are fishing through.
You have a wire running to the fans and all a switch does is break the power wire; maybe you need to reconsider the location of the switch. You have my sympathy and blessing on this one.
Glenn
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:20 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_53061
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,501
Liked 83 Times on 68 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

You cut out a hole in the sheetrock for an old work box and use a Greenlee 5' long drill. It has a hole in the end of the drill to attach what looks like one of those Chineese hand cuffs, you drill the hole from the hole where the switch goes when it gose through the top plate stop. attach the wire puller then slip the wire into it. Go back down and just pull the drill back out with the wire attached.
http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CEcQ8wIwBg#

Last edited by joecaption; 01-12-2011 at 01:26 PM.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:35 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_53063
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,077
Liked 130 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Unless there is a texture on the wall , drywall patching is easy.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:38 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_53064
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Joe, did you happen to notice the date of the post you are replying to?
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:44 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_53072
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,077
Liked 130 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Looked only at the last entry(today) not the original post.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 07:21 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_53096
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Looked only at the last entry(today) not the original post.
Hey, sorry. I meant the other Joe. lol


speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Attic ventilation in a tight spot Sugar Ray General Home Improvement Discussion 3 01-12-2011 01:12 PM
Cutting galvanized steel in tight spot Gpost Plumbing Forum 7 08-28-2009 01:56 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS