DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Thermostat line running through duct intake




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2007, 07:46 AM  
ITParalegal
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_3704_10146
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default Thermostat line running through duct intake

I replaced my a/c filter on a house I just bought yesterday and saw something I have never seen before:

The line that connects my thermostat to the outside a/c unit was coming out of the duct work then into the wall.
The thermostat being mounted right above the air intake vent.

I am not sure how far along the line runs through the duct or if the installer just puchtured a hole in the duct and stuck the line in that way.

Is there anything wrong with this?


ITParalegal is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 10:42 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_630_10151
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

No, nothing wrong. It has worked this long and will probably continue to work. Even if a couple of wires get scrapped bare on the duct metal; it is only 24 volts and won't hurt anything. The most likely scenario would be for it to make two wires contact and lock the thermostat in or some other problem with the thermostat. When it gives a problem; then we'll talk about fixing it.
Glenn


glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 10:55 AM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
registry_dropdown_456_10154
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

It is illegal to run 120/240 volt wiring in ductwork in romex.
The potential for rattling and wear on the wire's jacket would be reason enough for me to not do this.
__________________
[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]
Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 12:12 PM  
ITParalegal
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_3704_10155
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Yea, the wires are insulated (they have been wrapped) but I was surprised to see anything when I opened my intake vent cover. I may have it rerun at some later point in the future.

Really, the reason this whole thing came up is because I want to instal a digital thermostat.

I had one in a house I just moved from and felt it gave a lot more ease and precision in heating and cooling my house, resulting in saved money for moi.

I got on ebay and bought a nice honeywell dig therm that retails for around $100 for $45.

Ill go ahead with the install and one of these days look underneath the house just to see what I am dealing with
ITParalegal is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:28 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_630_11368
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

The thermostat wire is only 24v and is not hazardous.

Glenn


glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Well Line Ruptured? Josie Plumbing Forum 6 04-20-2008 10:34 PM
Ductwork txgrl74 HVAC 7 09-10-2007 11:06 AM
New Sewer Line Kerrylib Plumbing Forum 4 05-12-2007 09:27 PM
Running a heat duct down the inside of a wall JoulesWinfield HVAC 5 01-26-2007 08:14 PM
Having trouble wiring thermostat swinny Electrical and Wiring 2 11-29-2006 09:08 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS