DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Thermostat wire for gas fireplace




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2007, 08:58 PM  
Outbacker
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default Thermostat wire for gas fireplace

My gas fireplace has a switch on the side of it to turn it on and off. What I want to do is run a wire from it to a programmable thermostat. I have 2 questions for this: What type (size) of wire do I need, and how do I connect it to the fireplace to replace the switch? Do I just connect it to the 2 wires that the current switch is attached to, or does it come off the burner unit itself?

Thanks.



__________________
Outbacker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2007, 11:08 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Yes, the thermostat is simply a switch which closes on demand for heat. Use thermostat wire which is 18 0r 20gague. Connect to the same wires. The programable t-stat may complicate things some.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2007, 09:46 PM  
Outbacker
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default

That is great, thank you. I am assuming that the thermostat for gas fireplaces run on battery power as there is no external power supply for them? Thanks again.

__________________
Outbacker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-27-2007, 12:25 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Actually, Outbacker they are powered by a 'thermopile' which is similar to a thermocouple only the thermopile can generate a few milivolts. It doesn't take much to click the gas valve in. You are very welcome.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2007, 03:46 PM  
cabinetsetc
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennjanie View Post
Actually, Outbacker they are powered by a 'thermopile' which is similar to a thermocouple only the thermopile can generate a few milivolts. It doesn't take much to click the gas valve in. You are very welcome.
Glenn
Is this thermopile in the thermostat itself? If so, I may have just found a solution to a few of my problems.
__________________
cabinetsetc is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2007, 11:57 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

No, the thermopile is similar to a thermocouple and located in the same place. The bi-metals in the thermopile generate enough milivolts (usually 3) to magnetically open the gas valve.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
some kind of electric fireplace thermostat? Philphine HVAC 2 12-09-2008 03:13 PM
Thermostat wire codes don not match ufatbasted HVAC 1 11-02-2008 06:29 PM
Thermostat wire codes do not match ufatbasted Electrical and Wiring 2 10-12-2008 09:23 PM
Wood Fireplace - gas log retrofit Kerrylib HVAC 1 02-19-2007 06:01 PM
Having trouble wiring thermostat swinny Electrical and Wiring 2 11-29-2006 10:08 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS