DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding second HDTV




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2008, 09:57 AM  
fultonfederal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default Adding second HDTV

I am adding a second HDTV to my home. Have a large Plasma in the Living Area and am installing another one in the Basement.

I have all my HD sources in the upstairs Equipment rack. All my sources are High Def and using HDMI connections.
Right now I am able to share my HD sources to the 1 PLasma using a 5x1 HDMI switch which does all the routing between my HD sources.

Now I can just add a HDMI splitter or distribution amp and connect to the output and display HD on both HDTV.

This HDMI stuff is pretty new, so the guys at the local BB, CC were not very knowlegeable about it or carried any solutions.



__________________
fultonfederal is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2008, 09:30 AM  
phreaq
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 66
Default

Hi fultonfederal!

Are you asking if you can? or are you offering this as a suggestion?

You should be able to use a HDMI splitter, but make sure it still carries audio. My Pioneer 1016 amp had HDMI, but does not carry audio on it, strickly video. so I'd have to add the splitter before the amp.

What HD sources are you using? If it's SAT, it may be easy and cheap to pick up another receiver off ebay (I picked up several myself), but you need to run seperate coax from the dish to the set top box, as the HD signal does not like to get split.

If you're using dvd, hd dvd or blu ray, the player may have 2 outputs, one of which may be component (3 RCA cables, or labelled as YPbPr) which will give you up to 1080i, which could be routed to the second set. Again, this is only video, and you'll still need to get audio there.

__________________
phreaq is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding New Circuit to full breaker box vtfan99 Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2010 11:18 AM
Exterior breaker panel for adding a barn jayhalfpipe Electrical and Wiring 3 11-01-2008 11:35 AM
Adding a basement bedroom JoulesWinfield Framing and Foundation 20 01-25-2007 08:32 AM
adding a wall cjay Framing and Foundation 1 09-10-2006 10:59 AM
Adding a patio room vanman250 General Home Improvement Discussion 4 06-07-2006 08:20 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS