DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > adding ducts




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2008, 08:59 AM  
bryon815
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default adding ducts

i have a laundry room on the back of my house and heat was never run there fr now i have an electric heater running so my water lines dont freeze again my question is can i run flex to the room and how far from the furnace do i need to be? furnace is in the same room probably12`*10 and also do i need a return



__________________
bryon815 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2008, 01:01 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome Bryon:
I would simply cut a 4" round or square hole in the plenum to supply the room and no return air duct is needed. That will keep an overpressure in the room in case there are some small hidden cracks and the positive pressure will keep the cold air from infiltrating.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Exterior breaker panel for adding a barn jayhalfpipe Electrical and Wiring 3 11-01-2008 11:35 AM
Adding second HDTV fultonfederal Electrical and Wiring 1 01-31-2008 09:30 AM
Adding Attic/Roof Ventilation? 1parkpointer Roofing and Siding 4 12-07-2007 01:08 PM
AC ducts... Streamin1972 HVAC 1 04-13-2007 11:16 PM
Adding a patio room vanman250 General Home Improvement Discussion 4 06-07-2006 08:20 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS