DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding circuit to recessed exterior breaker box




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2008, 01:54 PM  
jon_no_h
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default Adding circuit to recessed exterior breaker box

I want to pull cable to my garage that I'm finishing so that I have power for outlets and wood working equipment. My breaker box is recessed on the exterior of my home with wood siding. There are plenty of knockouts in the bottom and I can add up to 4 new circuits to the panel (spare breakers).

Are there standard approaches to cut a hole in the siding below the breaker box so that I can feed cable from EMT conduit? I can mount an all weather box with a 3/4" threaded hole in the back and connect conduit from there down to my garage. The question is, what's the best way to feed the wire from the weather proof box up inside the wall cavity to the knockout on the bottom of the breaker box?

I'm considering metal flex conduit for the 6-8 " span. Are there better ways to do this?



__________________
jon_no_h is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-31-2008, 09:03 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default quick question

What kind of wire are you running to garage? How many wires, and what size breaker? Is the pipe in the ground yet? What size is it? After this you will recieve accurate helpful info. Good luck and talk to ya soon.....



__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-01-2008, 12:32 PM  
jon_no_h
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default Details

I'm pulling 240V into the garage, 2 30A breakers (THHN #10 1 red, 1 black, 1 neutral, 1 G), plus two 120V 20A circuits, one dedicated to the refrigerator, one for another appliance (old house, mostly non-grounded circuits originally). So that's 4 #10 and 4 #12 (since I'll share the ground to the junction box in the attic where the circuits split, and run romex the rest of the way). I need 3/4" conduit to hold these wires, and a way to get the wires into the breaker box, which is recessed into the wall of the house with wood siding. So my plan is to put an all weather box on the outside, below the breaker box, and run the cable from the knockout in the bottom of the breaker box to the all weather box mounted on the outside. I'll run EMT from the all weather box into the attic.

__________________
jon_no_h is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2008, 01:30 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Is it outdoor panel?

If it is an outdoor panel then you could get a double bell box thats deep with a 1" hole in back and sides. Than you could push short pieces of romex out bottom of panel and fish out to hole for bell box, then junction to thhn. This is easier than trying to put flex in. If the box faces in to house just blow a hole straight out back of box and go into bell box. Just remember to use only 1" screws. Anyway hope I have been of help here, good luck....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2008, 08:25 PM  
jon_no_h
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, Triple D. Do I need to secure the romex at the knockout with a clamp? (This would be 3 pieces of romex through one hole.) This does sound a lot easier than getting the flex just the right length with enough slack to work with ...

__________________
jon_no_h is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2008, 01:09 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Not to secure

Just provide a bushing for it. A romex style push in connector can be put in on the inside of panel and snapped in to knockout hole. I wouldnt worry so much about people pulling on the wires, no one should have to touch them once your finished. Good luck, let us know if you run into any glitches we can help with



__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding New Circuit to full breaker box vtfan99 Electrical and Wiring 6 01-26-2010 11:18 AM
As of 2008 Icehouse General Appliance Discussion 3 01-12-2009 12:06 PM
Recessed lighting question RyanBruner Electrical and Wiring 6 11-19-2008 07:21 PM
20 amp circuit - recessed lighting. Scot Clark Electrical and Wiring 11 08-30-2006 06:48 AM
Remodel circuit usage skopper Electrical and Wiring 4 08-30-2006 05:59 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS