DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Changing digital thermostat




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2008, 11:09 AM  
tractng
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 140
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Changing digital thermostat

Guys,


I am looking to replace the digital thermostat for our AC/heater unit in the house.

Do I need to turn the power off for the entire house?

I am looking for a controller that we can set on a 7 days basis where it goes on at a certain time (not just degree).


Tnt



__________________
tractng is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2008, 09:05 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 252
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

No need to turn off the whole house, just turn off the breakers for the unit (A.C. /Heater) and then you would not trigger anything to scramble it's brain.



__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2008, 09:08 AM  
Charlie
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 39
Default

Switching from a traditional thermostat to a digital can make a big difference. As Blue Jay said you only need to disable the breakers for the actual AC/Heater unit, but when it doubt it is better to air on the side of caution, so if you are at all unsure of which one it is, cut all the power.

__________________
Charlie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2008, 05:36 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,229
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

No need to turn off any breakers.
The T-Stat is powered by a 120/24VAC transformer.
Flip the service switch located on the unit, to off or simply remove the panels from the unit. This will cut power to the transformer.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat or furnace problem? dakuda HVAC 8 01-02-2010 04:05 PM
Electric Heat Pump & Programmable Thermostat John Greeb HVAC 2 01-09-2009 10:01 PM
Having trouble wiring thermostat swinny Electrical and Wiring 2 11-29-2006 10:08 PM
One thermostat works, the other doesn't churley702 HVAC 1 11-22-2006 09:27 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS