Need Guidance in Complete Home Renovations

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

My_PA_Home

Reaction score
Hey gang,

I am a complete newbie here and hope to be welcomed in.
Unfortunately, I came to this site due to a situation that
I am completely overwhelmed by, and wanted to turn to
the experienced and professionals that can offer some great
advice, opinions, suggestions, and overall guidance.

Being as brief as I possibly can, my childhood home in which
eventually has been left unattended/abandoned, is in bad condition
and needs some major remodeling/repairs. My guess is that the house
needs to be gutted and major rebuilding. My main concern is I don't want
the house to collaspe some day, or have lawsuits against my mom, who
legally owns the house now. No one has lived there for years. But we have
no idea what to do or where to begin.

Over the past couple years, the house started leaking big time, so it's not
going to be good.

I know this is all general information. My main questions is, where do I go from here? I can say that I would like to keep the house. I want to get it
fixed up before something major happens.

What would be some suggestions, on who to contact? How to get it inspected and assess the damage? I know there is going to be a TON of
things I have to do. I just need some kind of begining check list. I live in a
different state, so I have to do a lot of prep work from here, to set up for back home in PA.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. If this is NOT the place for this, Please feel free to direct me to the right place.

Thanks in advance. I hope to use this forum alot during the process. I will sure need it.

Joe