DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Circuit killed




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2009, 08:59 PM  
Lessthanzero
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default Circuit killed

So, I just lost power to my bathrooms. GFCI outlets and lights. It was (allegedly) after plugging in a dryer into on of the GFCI outlets, which sounds nomral, but I cannot get the power back on.

I have tried:
  • Toggling the circuit breaker
  • Hitting Reset on on the GFCI outlets
  • Swapping out all the GFCI receptacles
  • Swapping out the circuit breaker
But still no power!!!


Any ideas?


Lessthanzero is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:35 PM  
fluxcapacitor
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

buy a plug tester for 10 bucks (gfci one). it'll tell you if you wired 'em wrong. also just handy to have for future.


fluxcapacitor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 05:38 AM  
Lessthanzero
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Flux. Could you point me to a link of what a plug tester is? I should also say that I didn't install the original outlets. I just swapped them out to see if they were faulty.
Lessthanzero is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 07:28 AM  
kok328
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,725
Liked 241 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Default

Sounds like you cooked some wires somewhere on that circuit.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 11:45 AM  
travelover
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lessthanzero View Post
Thanks Flux. Could you point me to a link of what a plug tester is? I should also say that I didn't install the original outlets. I just swapped them out to see if they were faulty.
Tripp Lite 3-LED PLUG-IN CIRCUIT TESTER WIRING STATUS OF 120V... Compare Prices

They make two versions. Get the one that does GFI outlets, too.
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 10:02 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,483
Liked 260 Times on 221 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Could be another GFCI on the circuit somewhere that has tripped. Look in other bathrooms, garage, basement, outdoor receptacles.


JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Tap a new Circuit CallMeVilla Electrical and Wiring 8 12-04-2015 03:21 PM
Need to re-run 220 circuit jcorbin121 Electrical and Wiring 5 01-30-2011 06:43 PM
Second GFI in same circuit. wlkirk Electrical and Wiring 5 11-07-2010 02:52 PM
Can I change a 220 circuit into a 110 and how? Tazman Electrical and Wiring 16 05-18-2008 09:17 AM
10/2 on a 30A circuit Quattro Electrical and Wiring 15 03-03-2008 12:11 PM



Newest Threads