DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Circuit killed




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 08:59 PM  
Lessthanzero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default Circuit killed

So, I just lost power to my bathrooms. GFCI outlets and lights. It was (allegedly) after plugging in a dryer into on of the GFCI outlets, which sounds nomral, but I cannot get the power back on.

I have tried:

  • Toggling the circuit breaker
  • Hitting Reset on on the GFCI outlets
  • Swapping out all the GFCI receptacles
  • Swapping out the circuit breaker
But still no power!!!


Any ideas?


__________________
Lessthanzero is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2009, 09:35 PM  
fluxcapacitor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

buy a plug tester for 10 bucks (gfci one). it'll tell you if you wired 'em wrong. also just handy to have for future.



__________________
fluxcapacitor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 05:38 AM  
Lessthanzero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Flux. Could you point me to a link of what a plug tester is? I should also say that I didn't install the original outlets. I just swapped them out to see if they were faulty.

__________________
Lessthanzero is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 07:28 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,213
Liked 115 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Sounds like you cooked some wires somewhere on that circuit.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2009, 11:45 AM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lessthanzero View Post
Thanks Flux. Could you point me to a link of what a plug tester is? I should also say that I didn't install the original outlets. I just swapped them out to see if they were faulty.
Tripp Lite 3-LED PLUG-IN CIRCUIT TESTER WIRING STATUS OF 120V... Compare Prices

They make two versions. Get the one that does GFI outlets, too.
__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2009, 11:02 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 984
Liked 107 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Could be another GFCI on the circuit somewhere that has tripped. Look in other bathrooms, garage, basement, outdoor receptacles.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
As of 2008 Icehouse General Appliance Discussion 3 01-12-2009 12:06 PM
Can I have outlets and overhead on same circuit... bvz Electrical and Wiring 6 04-25-2008 01:42 PM
GFI and Circuit keep tripping trythis Electrical and Wiring 3 04-07-2008 11:39 PM
Circuit breaker pops Vreelandjr Electrical and Wiring 10 11-09-2006 08:20 AM
Remodel circuit usage skopper Electrical and Wiring 4 08-30-2006 05:59 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS