DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Bricks, Masonry and Concrete > Remove stucco to add siding




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2009, 11:36 PM  
Rommel
Noob
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default Remove stucco to add siding

I have a block house built in 1947, it's covered in stucco. Anyway, I'm considering adding siding but have some questions. I've read a few threads here about siding over block but I'm curious about removing the stucco first, seems everyone else has bare blocks. Some spots are very light to where I can see the outline of the blocks (and don't see a wire mesh I've read about) and other spots are very thick with stucco. I don't think I should just side or fur over the stucco because it's so uneven and don't want the siding to be wavy. Is it okay to remove strips of stucco just to make room for furring strips or is there a reason all stucco should be removed? Also, when I anchor the furring strips does it matter if I anchor into the mortar or if I anchor into the block? Does it depend on what kind of block I have or is mortar always better for anchoring? What is the best way to remove stucco? I have an air compressor with an air chisel but sometimes the old school hammer works better than these fancy tools. Are there special chisels for this or do I just use a pry bar? Feel free to add any additional advice, I'm usually handy but working with stucco and block is pretty new to me.



__________________
Rommel is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2009, 08:28 AM  
jdougn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 132
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Hello Rommel & welcome to the forum,

Don't try to remove the stucco. It would be massively time consuming. Instead, install furring strips with concrete screws. After the furring strips are in place pull a tight string horizontally from end to end at intervals. Loosen the concrete screw then use cedar shims to adjust the furring strip to the string. If you keep it within 1/4" or so you should be fine. You can also let the siding "float" across a furring strip and not fasten it down completely. This is especially true with vinyl siding, although you don't mention what type of siding you're going to use.
hth, Doug

__________________
jdougn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
What to do with the existing siding? schu777 Roofing and Siding 2 10-03-2008 08:06 AM
Installing vinyl siding to an unlevel garage pbrow1 Roofing and Siding 3 06-09-2008 02:02 PM
mud splashing on siding mark18 Roofing and Siding 2 02-17-2008 11:13 AM
Drop lap - remove or cover? thomb Roofing and Siding 2 07-12-2007 01:17 AM
Fiber Cement Siding - Color in or Paint? austinbirdman Roofing and Siding 2 11-22-2006 09:57 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS