LG Front Load Dryer - 1 year old

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all.
I have read most of the past posts on "dryer rumble"
Probably rollers or welded seam
My dryer is a year old and has worked fine (small amount of rumble) for the last year.
Small amount of noise that I think it is normal.
We went on vacation to Texas for 5 months and once home I satrted it up and rumble galour. Another poster is right... it sounds like tennis shoes are in there.
We are remote and a serviceman with LG exp is 2 hours away.
This has started rumbling from "lack of use".
Any suggestions.
Thanks

Hello all.
Another poster is right... it sounds like tennis shoes are in there.

I have no experience with Litton Group dryers, but in my experience with Maytag and Whirlpool, worn drum rollers will typically result in a squeeking noise that gradually progresses into a squeeling noise. Not a rumbling noise.

There's a tool that you can buy at any place that sells automotive tools, and it's called a "mechanic's stethoscope", and will sell for anywhere between $15 and $200, depending on quality and where it was made. For diagnosing problems like this, you only need a cheapie. Basically, a mechanic's stethoscope looks much like a doctor's stethoscope, but it has a metal probe that you touch to various parts of a machine. Because vibrations of solid objects cause noises like squealing, squeeking and rumbling, when you touch the metal probe to the part of the machine that's making a noise, the probe will cause a metal diaphragm to move in the same way and that same noise will be heard much louder through the earphones. Thus, a $15 mechanic's stethoscope will allow you to pinpoint the source of the rumbling noise.