DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring a Plasma cutter at 230 volts...




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2009, 01:13 PM  
Delano_man
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_14766_30810
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default Wiring a Plasma cutter at 230 volts...

Hi there i just bought a plasma cutter that operates at various different input voltages. These are all selectable by using different jumper placements.

Input Input Current Recommended
Voltage Phase @ 6 kw Output Slow-Blow Fuse Size
208 VAC 1 50 amps 70 amp
240 VAC 1 43 amps 60 amp
480 VAC 1 25 amps 35 amp

There is another model that operates at 200, 230, and 400VAC. My question is can i hook my plasma cutter up to the 230vac on one of these settings? Or do I need something like a Buck transformer. Thanks for any help in advance!


Delano_man is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 03:20 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_30812
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Most residential services in the US and Canada are 120/240v, so you would use the 240v setting.

One thing that confuses me. It says 43 amps at 240v @ 6kW output.
6kW @ 240v is only about 25 amps. Does this thing have a built-in compressor or something to make the amperage so high?


speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 04:08 PM  
Delano_man
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_14766_30813
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

It doesn't have a built in compressor. I don't know too much about watts but I am guessing it is a combination between amps drawn at which ever volt... This unit has an output of 50 amps.
Delano_man is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 04:21 PM  
Delano_man
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_14766_30814
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I did test the voltage of my outlet, and it read 230volts at roughly 4pm.
Delano_man is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:21 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_30815
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

225-245 is roughly typical residential voltage. Nominal is 240v.

This is at a residence, right? Or no?
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:36 PM  
Delano_man
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_14766_30816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

ok thats what i thought... just don;t wanna blow up my expensive machine. Thanks for the help.
Delano_man is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 07:36 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
registry_dropdown_692_30818
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default

I use a plasma cutter in my garage with 220 without an issue. You should be fine. Just use the right plug.
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 06:05 AM  
locknut
Member
registry_dropdown_13992_30823
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 75
Default

These days I'm not sure what to expect coming out of the outlet and what to call the nominal voltage. For a long time to date I've been reading 124/248V at my service entrance. However, I expect also that this level will drop noticeably during the hot days of summer.
locknut is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 06:28 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_30825
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakuda View Post
I use a plasma cutter in my garage with 220 without an issue. You should be fine. Just use the right plug.
But Dakuta, you make it sound like all plasma cutters and all "220" lines are the same, and only the "plug" matters.

This could not be more misleading. The circuit ampacity and conductors are the most important thing. Then you have to consider the draw of the tool or appliance. Is it within the limits of the circuit.

Also you need to consider if it is straight 240v, as in the case of a welder, compressor or most tools. Or is it 120/240v as in the case of a dryer or range.
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 06:32 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_30826
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by locknut View Post
These days I'm not sure what to expect coming out of the outlet and what to call the nominal voltage. For a long time to date I've been reading 124/248V at my service entrance. However, I expect also that this level will drop noticeably during the hot days of summer.
120/240v IS nominal for most residential services int he US and Canada. You will typically see it higher to account for some drop as you correctly state. Mine is usually right where yours is.

120/240v is what is used for calculation purposes because it is what it is supposed to be.


speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting a 50" plasma TV on drywall loki791 Walls and Ceilings 1 12-19-2008 09:22 PM
220 wiring... watts Electrical and Wiring 15 02-18-2008 12:43 PM
Wiring 220 Kelly Electrical and Wiring 6 02-04-2008 04:08 PM
Plasma TV Color Issues amy_sky Electrical and Wiring 4 12-27-2007 04:14 AM
Plasma Questions TxBuilder Electrical and Wiring 10 01-31-2007 04:34 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS