DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Running electrical wire in an offgrade house.




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2009, 01:02 PM  
TallPaul
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default Running electrical wire in an offgrade house.

Hi all,

I have an old offgrade concrete block house in Jacksonville, FL built probably in the late 50's or 60's. The old gray non-grounded wire. The house has a 2 in 12 pitch roof as well: very shallow. I re-wired part of the house myself under permit from the city: kitchen and bathrooms to be specific (I tested for it, etc). I am now thinking of re-wiring the remainder of the house as the old cable is getting rather brittle.

My question is: If you were to re-wire a house with a shallow 2 in 12 pitch attic area that also had an offgrade area, what cable would you run where? All lighting fixtures and switches through the attic, and receps through the offgrade area?

Thanks!

Paul


TallPaul is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 02:19 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

What does "offgrade" mean?


speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 05:43 AM  
locknut
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 75
Default

What kind of wiring did you use in the job you completed so far? Why do you think any further wiring would necessarily be different?
locknut is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 08:09 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,349
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

What does the pitch of the roof and "off grade" (whatever that is) have to do with what wire you use?
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Roof leak problem with new roof muty Introductions 5 09-03-2013 06:15 PM
Nonfunctioning socket - running electrical wire to outlet notwoohoo Electrical and Wiring 3 03-20-2009 04:49 PM
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 07:02 AM
Stapling electrical wire triggers sparks pressureseal Electrical and Wiring 9 08-05-2008 10:19 AM
Is it alright to use underground wire inside a house? Outbacker Electrical and Wiring 1 08-20-2007 12:25 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS