DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Help me rig my thermostat!




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2006, 08:00 PM  
aces11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default Help me rig my thermostat!

Hey guys, I was wondering if I could rig my thermostat at a certain temperature, so my roomate couldn't turn the place into a freezer, and cost me a fortune in bills! Anyway to do it? It's a battery powered "Maple Chase" digital thermostat. any help would be great. ha ha, thanks again..



__________________
aces11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2006, 08:41 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Lay a ball-bat on the top step of the stairs.



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2006, 09:06 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Sorry, A second thermostat fixed the problem when I saw this situation before. The Children figured out how to "fix" the thermostat, so we put a new thermostat in another room and hid it behind some shelves. The thermostat in my home is actually in my bedroom.

Leave the old thermostat on and keep the batteries fresh.



That's all I've got. A thermostat with password security may exist, but I don't know where to get one.

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2006, 10:34 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default Hey!!!

Square Eye stole my idea....I need to type faster or pay more attention...
(I already have one at my house)

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2006, 11:04 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inspectorD
Square Eye stole my idea....I need to type faster or pay more attention...
(I already have one at my house)
A baseball bat on the top step?
__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2006, 11:09 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default You still up?

I guess they don't feel hot or cold when they are out cold....

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2006, 11:20 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default Huh?

I guess I had to refer to the second post you had.. the one with the second fake you out thermostat. No bat's at my house (not in my belfry), only the occasional car or truck or train or skateboard or block or lego or lincoln log or anything else you can come up with on my stairs.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2006, 09:58 PM  
aces11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Ok, cool, I think the second thermostat would be the way to go, however the original one is across the house from my room (only about 15 yards) so how could I get the wiring from the ac unit/old thermostat to my room. All in the attic

__________________
aces11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-15-2006, 08:58 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,116
Liked 132 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Default Sure

You could just disconnect the old line and run a new one for little money.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2006, 08:46 AM  
akradar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Default Easy fix, worked for me...

Give the electric bill to your roomate next time.......PAY UP Chilly Willy!



__________________
akradar is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat or furnace problem? dakuda HVAC 8 01-02-2010 04:05 PM
Electric Heat Pump & Programmable Thermostat John Greeb HVAC 2 01-09-2009 10:01 PM
Thermostat Installation jeff7 HVAC 3 01-22-2007 10:31 AM
Having trouble wiring thermostat swinny Electrical and Wiring 2 11-29-2006 10:08 PM
One thermostat works, the other doesn't churley702 HVAC 1 11-22-2006 09:27 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS