DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > General Appliance Discussion > Ductless (non-vented) range hoods?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2010, 10:32 PM  
superjedi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 53
Default Ductless (non-vented) range hoods?

Hi all,
Looking for some opinions/pros/cons regarding ductless range hoods.
We're about 90 days out (hopefully) from beginning a kitchen remodeling project and I'm trying to work out as much as I can before actually ripping into things.
Has anyone had one of these non-vented hoods in their kitchen? I know they use charcoal filters that have to be replaced every 3 to 6 months based on how much cooking you do.

We have an older house (1964) with the original kitchen. It has built in cabinets which will all be coming out, and the ducting from the current range hood runs up through the middle of the cabinet above the range, through the ceiling and out to the roof. I was considering the ductless hood as a "space saving" option.

Appreciate any input.



__________________
superjedi is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 02:36 AM  
NeilG
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Everything I hear and read shouts "don't". The charcoal filters won't clear your kitchen of smoke. Use the space and run a duct outside. If there is already a hole through the roof, use it, and get the best fan you can afford. The first time you torch something on or in the stove you'll be SO happy.



__________________
NeilG is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 08:27 PM  
superjedi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks for the input! Looking for any advice I can get.
I actually found that the ductwork goes up into the ceiling above the kitchen, then out the through the back wall of the house. Guess it doesn't really make any difference where it's vented really.
For anyone who's done a kitchen remodel, how do you install a cabinet above the range if there's an existing duct in place? Just cut out the back of the cabinet so it fits around it? I guess another possibility is just to do one of those decorative wood or metal surrounds and just give up that space. Decisions, decisions. . .

__________________
superjedi is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 08:38 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,098
Liked 127 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 323

Default yup

Usually the fan hood has a set of directions and dimensions for where the hole is located, some even have templates.
Yes you just cut a hole through the cabinet, and add support if you need it.
If you remove most of the back, screw though the sides into another cabinet.
You will get it as you go.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 09:33 PM  
woodchuck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 247
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Default

I agree the vent to the outside is the way to go. Smoke and heat won't be pulled out by the ventless. I have the rectangular shaped duct that fits inside the wall. It changes to round in the attic and goes out the roof. I used this method because our ceiling is vaulted so the cabinet doesn't reach the ceiling. The four inch round pipe wouldn't take up much room going through a cabinet though.

__________________
woodchuck is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2010, 01:26 AM  
NeilG
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I have the rectangular duct inside the cabinet and there was still room to cut a useful shelf around it as it's only a few inches deep.

__________________
NeilG is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2010, 04:43 PM  
superjedi
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks for the advice, guys. I can see how cutting out a section of the cabinet's back panel (and shelf) would make this work. That's probably the way I'll wind up going. The kitchen is relatively small and I'd hate to give up any available space.

That being said, any opinions on Broan vent hoods versus other brands?



__________________
superjedi is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
ductless mini split for heating jmsmith HVAC 3 08-04-2008 05:44 AM
Ductless Central AC lisany HVAC 3 06-02-2008 12:15 AM
Do Nat. Gas Dryers need to be vented outside? phreaq General Appliance Discussion 7 02-14-2008 01:56 PM
Wiring up range hoods and bathroom fans dble_g2k Electrical and Wiring 2 10-10-2007 07:35 PM
Island range hoods/vents LoneJeeper General Home Improvement Discussion 10 01-08-2007 02:16 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS