DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > COnverting hard wired sconce into a plug in




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2010, 02:58 PM  
AudreyS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default COnverting hard wired sconce into a plug in

I purchased a 2 (60 watt) light hard-wired wall sconce (230 V 50 HZ AC), but want to convert it to a plug in for future use in a different location (in a nursery now). The sconce has 2 white wires and 2 black wires and an additional copper ground wire attached to the lamp base. I have also purchased a polarized lamp cord, electrical caps and a rotary on off switch. Can this be done??? thanks!



__________________
AudreyS is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2010, 03:23 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

For US 120v fixtures, the two black wires go to the short slot in the outlet and the two white wires go to the long slot.
It'll still work if you switch the black and white wires but there will be less personal safety.

You might want to check the outlet that you are going to be using with an outlet tester.
http://www.toolking.com/media/catalo...68100041_1.jpg
They don't check for all ~30 possible faults, but they should check for a reversed hot/neutral.



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-28-2010 at 03:30 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2010, 03:44 PM  
AudreyS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default

The lamp cord has no round hole. Do I need to get a 3 pronged lamp cord or can I ground the lamp to something else?

__________________
AudreyS is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2010, 05:14 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Can you post a link to your fixture? Picture, specifications, etc.?

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2010, 05:18 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 447
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

It will be near impossible to legally and safely convert a hard wired fixture to corded.

How will you ground it?
How will you contain the wiring and splices?
How will you mount it?

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2010, 07:04 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,220
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

You will have to purchase a three wire cord whip (available at the big box stores) and make your connections inside the fixture. The two black wires in the fixture will attach to the single black wire on your cord and the two white wires in the fixture will attach to the white wire on your cord. the copper wire in the fixture will attach to the green wire on your cord. You will have to provide a means of strain relief so the cord doesn't pull on the wired connections in the "electrical caps". Between the cord and the fixture you will attach interupt the black wire with the in/out of the dimmer switch. The white wire will pass thru the mounting box for the dimmer switch and the green wire will attach to the mounting box (if a metal box) on both the plug side and the fixture side. You might be able to find a cord with a dimmer swith already installed inline.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2010, 09:30 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
You will have to purchase a three wire cord whip (available at the big box stores) and make your connections inside the fixture. . .
But the safety of what you achieve will depend on your knowledge, skill & ability level and how much you copy existing designs that have been UL approved.

I guess one way to do this, since you have a forum, is to post pictures of what you build and see if anyone here can find a flaw in the materials or workmanship or design.

By adding a fuse and a thermal cutout you can possibly make it safer than what is commonly available.


__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-28-2010 at 09:45 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Wired/Wireless Doorbell Ynothna Electrical and Wiring 8 11-02-2010 12:51 PM
plug does not fit in outlet pedsot Electrical and Wiring 8 05-11-2008 05:18 AM
No wired doorbells in my house ITParalegal Electrical and Wiring 3 06-14-2007 11:16 AM
clean out plug? shovelshort Plumbing Forum 1 05-11-2007 10:47 AM
inspector says cir brkrs wired incorrect, wont trip Ducttapeman Electrical and Wiring 10 05-23-2006 05:45 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS