DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Telephone line wiring?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2010, 08:24 PM  
SJNServices
Senior Member
 
SJNServices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Telephone line wiring?

Hi everyone, this is Steve's wife asking ~ he's out working on the car.

We're moving and will be having a roommate, he already has phone service at the address, the phone company rep just told me we have to do some wiring to have our own service brought into our half of the house. Does anyone have any experience with this? Can anyone point me to an easy walk-through to do this ourselves? Wiring diagram? I have found some links doing Google searches, but they seem more complicated than the rep said they need to be.

Help!!

~Stacy
(Steve says send beer...)



__________________

[url=http://www.SteveJNichols.com]My Website - SteveJNichols.com[/url]
[url=http://bent-nail.blogspot.com]My Blog - Sticks & Stones[/url]

SJNServices is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2010, 04:12 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,214
Liked 115 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

If service already exists, then it's already wired for a second phone in the home.
This phone can have it's own phone number but, yet share the existing wires in the home. Well not exactly share - there are redundancy wires included with the first service that can be utilized in the event that the primaries got bad or if you want a second line in the home. It's been awhile since I've messed with phone wires but, whichever 2 colors are not being used out of 4, are the second set.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2010, 05:12 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,685
Liked 494 Times on 411 Posts
Likes Given: 150

Default

When I had a dedicated fax line ran into the house all they did was connect the two wires as KOK mentioned. I have since moved the fax up stairs and wired it exactly as they had it and its worked for years. The phone only uses 2 wires so you shouldn't have to run any new wiring, but you are in Cali arent ya?

And tell Steve we said, hay!

__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2010, 12:35 PM  
handyguys
Senior Member
 
handyguys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 815
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via Skype™ to handyguys
Default

the second pair is usually the yellow and black if standard conventions were followed. The telco may require you to connect to a new Network Interface Device (NID) which may involve extending the yellow black pair from the existing point where they connect to the existing NID.

Or, just ask the telco to activate the service at the existing NID, or new NID, and label it then just run some phone wire to a new jack. Use a cordless set to minimize the wire you need to run.

OR, just use cell phones!!! That is absolutely what I would do, especially if this were a temporary living situation.

__________________

The Handyguys Podcast [url]http://www.handyguyspodcast.com[/url]

handyguys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2010, 01:35 PM  
Nestor_Kelebay
Emperor Penguin
 
Nestor_Kelebay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,844
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Radio Shack used to sell a good book all about phone wiring. The book was small, about 80 pages and only cost about $10. If they don't still sell it, check your local libraries for a copy.

__________________
Nestor_Kelebay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2010, 01:00 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default what line?

I know this post is old, and they probably have a phone by now. But was there even an existing line anywhere in their proposed half of the house?

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2010, 11:58 AM  
SJNServices
Senior Member
 
SJNServices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

BTW, Wife done good! Thanx for the help!!



__________________

[url=http://www.SteveJNichols.com]My Website - SteveJNichols.com[/url]
[url=http://bent-nail.blogspot.com]My Blog - Sticks & Stones[/url]

SJNServices is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
gas line jenksak General Home Improvement Discussion 1 09-29-2008 05:30 PM
using 3/8 hot water line guyod Plumbing Forum 8 04-01-2008 01:41 PM
Leaking Gas line jlipman Plumbing Forum 0 08-16-2007 03:45 PM
New Sewer Line Kerrylib Plumbing Forum 4 05-12-2007 10:27 PM
gas line shovelshort Plumbing Forum 6 03-13-2007 04:27 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS