DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Oil furnace trouble after running dry

Old 06-30-2010, 12:42 PM  
basscop5000

Default Oil furnace trouble after running dry

Hi, my oil burning furnace (for both baseboard and supply) had run out of fuel 2 days ago, we got a delivery yesterday, so I went to fire it up again. I was told I would only have to bleed the fuel line if the boiler didn't fire, but it went first shot. I'm not a pro on boilers by any means, but I believe I've lost pressure on the expansion tank side (also the line that runs to baseboard heating).

This is on a Thermo Dynamics model S-125, ~10yrs old.

As soon as it fired back up, the hose nozzle on the same pipe as my T/P RV (about 1" apart on the pipe, 90 degrees difference, valve is at the end of the straight pipe) started releasing all the water going through that side. I can stop the hot water dump by turning off the baseboard/expansion tank side, but that doesn't get me a fully functional boiler. Currently we have full running hot water, and though the heat isn't necessary in the summer, I'd rather not wait to get this working properly again.

A few questions here:
- Is that nozzle in the rear the release for the valve, or would it come out through the outlet blocked by the valve?
- Do I need to drain/repressurize my expansion tank, and if so... how?

Any advice is more than welcome, and I can provide pictures or more information for clarity.

Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2010, 03:09 PM  
silentdub

I was going to say you need to bleed the line, I don't know anything about boilers, but ensure that the system doesn't just fire and go out, make sure it stays lit, otherwise, bleed the air from the oil feed.

Old 06-30-2010, 03:41 PM  
basscop5000