DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Converting two prong to three prong plugs

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2006, 05:18 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Default Converting two prong to three prong plugs

Hi. The apartment I live in has two prong plugs, some of which have been changed to standard three prong plugs with no ground wire attached. I have heard that the risk of shock can be reduced by installing CFGI receptacles. Is this true? If so, can the same risk reduction be obtained by attaching a power bar with surge protection to the standard three prong receptacle?



heavyfoot is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 09:34 PM  
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44

Electrical codes fully allow for 3 prong GFCI receptacles to be used in place of 2 prong, ungrounded, receps even when there is no mechanical ground.

Electric Code requires such installations to be labeled "no equipment ground" with the labels found within the packaging.

The GFCI will work despite having no equipment ground.

Last edited by Square Eye; 07-14-2006 at 05:51 AM.
manhattan42 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 10:00 PM  
Licensed Electrician
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105

To add to Manhattan's post:

Adding a single wire to a metal water pipe is more dangerous than no ground at all in 99% of the cases.
It is allowed in rare and specific circumstances. But even under those circumstances it is typically just as easy to re-run a circuit or attach a ground to the panel buss.
Please post back and let us know how it turns out....

Last edited by Square Eye; 07-14-2006 at 05:53 AM.
petey_racer is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 10:24 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
Square Eye's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


In the case of an outdoor or a wet location receptacle, an ungrounded non GFI 3 prong receptacle is a dangerous thing.
Neutral is not the same thing as a ground. When I am counting on having a good ground,
I don't want to find out there is no ground by getting a good jolt. Especially when I'm under a floor!

Glennjanie and I both know a fellow who died under his house trying to put a dryer receptacle in.
The drill hit a power wire in the wall. He was drilling up from under the floor.
The 3 prong receptacle he was plugged into was not grounded.
He grabbed the chuck to try to pull the drill back after it jammed.
Power found it's way through his arm and out his back.
The breaker didn't blow immediately and the guy died.
[URL=""][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]

[URL=""]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Last edited by Square Eye; 07-14-2006 at 05:52 AM.
Square Eye is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How hard is it to switch plugs? WestBentley Electrical and Wiring 11 03-29-2007 07:34 PM

Newest Threads