1910 Home Basement Floor Questions

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ATess

Reaction score
Hi All!

I just bought my first house in Yardley PA. It was built in 1910 and has a basement with stone walls and a dirt floor. It looks like a white sealant (I am assuming drylock) was put down on the floor. Recently we have gotten a lot of rain and it looks like in some places the sealant is coming loose from the floor. I like to compare it to a blister on your skin. It's loose and disconnected from the floor. I am afraid that if left unchecked, this space in between the sealant layer and the floor will become a breeding ground for mold and insects. Is there an easy way to get the sealant up off the floor? Ive been peeling it up where its already loose but in some sections of the floor its stuck down well.

Thank you for any advice. I am new at this, but want to learn how to best take care of my home.

I doubt Drylock is going to harbor mold or insects. Have you thought about pulling out the stone floor, and having a concrete floor poured with a vapor barrier below? Alternatively, you could pull up the stones and place a vapor barrier on the dirt and cover it with stone chips.

My parent's last home out in York County PA had a rubble stone foundation and flagstones laid on the dirt for a floor, so I'm kind of familiar with your situation.