A girl and an old house

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mockinbird

Reaction score
Hi there. I am a newbie and here is my introduction.

I have an old house that was built in the 1950's. It is less than 1000 sq feet. The house is in need of major repair. It is paid for and sits on just under and acre of land. In the near future, I will either have to move into this house or rent it out so I have to do something to make it better. I have had a building contractor and an appraiser look at it. The building contractor said it would be better to tear it down and start from scratch due to the many problems. The cost of repairing everything would exceed the value of the house but I can't afford to build a new house. The appraiser said that he would make a few structural repairs first and then do cosmetic stuff and it should be fine. Other people have said, "Oh it can be a cute house with a little work" and others say, "I wouldn't put a dime into it." So.....I am torn as to what I should do. I don't expect you guys to make up my mind but I am looking for information to guide me as to what I should and shouldn't do.

I have browsed the forums and have already found a wealth of information. I hope to utilize this information as I go through the journey of remodeling (or not)....alone.

So there you have it, an introduction from a girl with an old house. Thanks!!

Get some more contractors opinions out there.
Sometimes it will be less expensive to tear down, but recycle as much as you can. And then there are times when things just take a longer time to fix it, take smaller steps. I would think on it another week, just to settle myself down and make a good choice.
Good luck and post some pics if you want better advice.:D
Ever think of a trailer or smaller home to start?