Anyway to plug a 220v into a 110v outlet?

Discussion in 'General Home Improvement Discussion' started by GBjay, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. Aug 8, 2007 #1

    GBjay

    GBjay

    GBjay

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a Big AC unit 220v, and an electric stove 220v. I want both of these appliances upstairs where there are no 220v outlets. Without calling an electrician to rewire and create a new 220v outlet, what are my options? Can I purchase a converter/adapter at homedepot?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Aug 8, 2007 #2

    GBjay

    GBjay

    GBjay

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The upstairs is all 110v by the way.
     
  3. Aug 10, 2007 #3

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    10
    Time to call the electrician.
     
  4. Aug 14, 2007 #4

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    inspectorD

    Housebroken Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,503
    Likes Received:
    267
    What he said...or get a really good life insurance policy.;)
     
  5. Aug 17, 2007 #5

    import monkey

    import monkey

    import monkey

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, you'll need an electrician to pull 220 off the main line into the house to a new breaker and run new outlets.
     

Share This Page