Attic remodel insulation

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eric1981

Reaction score
Hello Im new to this. I Have a house that was built in 1909. The Upsairs of this house has never been finshed, or even insulated. I have lived here for 10 years and I finnaly have the money to do the job. What we plan on doing is adding a master bedroom & bathroom. My question is related to the insulation.. All of the exterior walls have a blown in insulation (it looks very old and setteld down a few inches). Do u think I should suck out all the old insulation and replace it with new blown in insulation, then on the remodel use Batts? Or should I use some kind of foam insulaion? VERY EXPENSIVE? I live in Nebraska so we have every climate. I want to do the best thing for my money.

Thanks

Before all that you need to figure out if the attic will even hold that kind of weight. Most attics were designed for just light storage. You may have to add wider floor joist.
You also will have to be doing some major plumbing and you should consolt with a real plumber and have it roughed in before anything else gets done.
There's no need to remove what you have in fact since your plan is to have the upstairs conditioned (heated and or cooled) the only gain from more insulation would be stopping sound transmission from up stairs. The insulation would only be needed in the knee walls and on the ceiling from the top of the knee wall to the roof peak. There has to an air space of about 1-1/2" from the roof sheathing to the insulation for air flow. Sometimes you have to add 2 X 2's to the rafters to gain that space.