Breaker panel install

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by jmac, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. Nov 28, 2009 #1

    jmac

    jmac

    jmac

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just installed a 100 Amp panel in between the 2 x 4 studs in my garage wall to run power up to the 2nd floor where I'm creating an apartment. I plan to run the wiring up from the top of the box. should I put in some 2 x cleats above the panel to staple the romex to so that the cable stays in the center of the cavity?
     
  2. Nov 28, 2009 #2

    Johnboy555

    Johnboy555

    Johnboy555

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't think that would be necessary. It can't be more than 4' to the ceiling, probably more like 2'. Just attach them to the upstairs studs.
     
  3. Nov 28, 2009 #3

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Yes but, not necessarily for the reason you stated.
     
  4. Nov 29, 2009 #4

    joe cool

    joe cool

    joe cool

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keep your cables separated. If you bundle them you are not allowed to pull the full capacity of current through them.
     

Share This Page