bx

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by vradduri, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. Sep 3, 2012 #1

    vradduri

    vradduri

    vradduri

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need to use BX cable( armoured cable) for wiring the natural gas furnace.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2012
  2. Sep 3, 2012 #2

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    For what part?
     
  3. Sep 3, 2012 #3

    vradduri

    vradduri

    vradduri

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Main wiring from the panel to the furnace, the load wiring?
     
  4. Sep 3, 2012 #4

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    Then no, not unless your local area has an amendment requiring it.
    The wiring at the furnace must be protected from physical damage though. Most just use an EMT pipe sleeve down to the unit.
     
  5. Sep 3, 2012 #5

    vradduri

    vradduri

    vradduri

    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many Thanks,pete
     
  6. Sep 4, 2012 #6

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    594
    Speedy is correct again! EMT is allowed and less expensive and easier) to work with than BX.

    Oh, VRA . . . remember you DO NOT use ROMEX inside the EMT. Strip the plastic from the ROMEX so you have individual conductors (wires). This is code to prevent heat buildup. (Obviously, you leave the insulation on the copper wires, right?)
     

Share This Page