Can I run electrical under concrete slab without cutting a trench

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by starfish, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. Mar 28, 2011 #1

    starfish

    starfish

    starfish

    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I am new to this forum. We bought a house and will *hopefully* be closing on it by the end of this week. It is a relatively new home that was a forclosure. It has tile (the same tile) throughout the home. There are no "leftover" tiles that we can find and we don't know where the tile came from. It's a little unusual. We are planning on redoing the kitchen and would like to have an island with a cooktop. But, we don't want to disturbe the tile by cutting a trench through the concrete slab, since we don't have any way of replacing the tile. Is there any way to bore under the slab and install a conduit for the electrical and just cut a hole in the concrete where the island will be? Many thanks for any help/advice.
     
  2. Mar 28, 2011 #2

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    If you have enough money you can do anything.
    I could see this being done from outside possibly. They would bore from the outside in a line that would cross both locations and then bore down to meet it. Might be cheaper to just retile the whole area.
     
  3. Mar 30, 2011 #3

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,895
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    Always willing to try anything once. I would drill thru the foundtion below the leval of the floor and foam and see if I could work a pipe into the area of the island. If that doesn't work you have done little dammge, and if it does work you could cut hole in the floor under the island and cupboard, If no cupboard in that area then dig into outside wall chip away some concrete so you can install conduit or underground wire.
    I would try it.
     
  4. Mar 30, 2011 #4

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    594
    If you cut out a larger section from under the existing cabinet, you "could" dig under the slab and get to the location of the island stub-out. "Boring" is too limited because you cannot make the turn. However, the tools to make that 90 degree dig don't exist! If you start outside, you could dig a trench large enough to undercut the foundation -- but that means under the footing depth. I wouldn't crawl in there for all the $$$ in China.
     
  5. Mar 31, 2011 #5

    edlank

    edlank

    edlank

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is the kitchen tile floor really on a concrete slab? No framing and crawlspace under there?
     
  6. Mar 31, 2011 #6

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,895
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    Ed, this is pan slab or slab on grade floor. What I have seen here is the slab on grade will have foam on the inside of the foundation or under the floor or both and a pan slab has all that foam and another on the outside. The bottom line is the house is built on a basement floor.
    Let me make this clearer. If you drill into the foundation with 1 1/2 drill 6" down, 8 or 10 inches in you will find sand. Drive a 1" diamiter steel pipe in there to the area of the island. Remove that pipe and put in the conduit with string in it. Dig a hole in the island area and at the wall so you can put the elbows on your conduit.
     
  7. Apr 1, 2011 #7

    reillypainting

    reillypainting

    reillypainting

    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    No you can't, because you will have city codes that will need it below 8-16." It'll depend on the type of conduit or wire you will be using. Cement slab could be on top after.
     
  8. Apr 1, 2011 #8

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,895
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    Reilly is right , check with local inspectors first.
     
  9. Apr 5, 2011 #9

    Raindem

    Raindem

    Raindem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    13
    Is it possible to work a pillar into your design? Then you could run the wires through the ceiling and bring them down from above.
     
  10. May 5, 2011 #10

    Ithinktoomuch

    Ithinktoomuch

    Ithinktoomuch

    New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you possibly run the wire upwards into the ceiling? (Do you have low ceinings?) if you run the wire upwards (center of island) you could frame around the conduit and incorporate a tiled (pillar) inthe middle of the island! Just a suggestion!
     
  11. May 18, 2011 #11

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,895
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    Starfish: We're all sitting on the edge of our chairs, what did you do?
     
  12. Jun 2, 2011 #12

    donaldr

    donaldr

    donaldr

    Lic. Master Electrician

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    tell momma to pick out some new drapes
     

Share This Page