Ceramic stove top

Discussion in 'General Appliance Discussion' started by Rich55, May 9, 2012.

  1. May 9, 2012 #1

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was installing a new control knob for one of the elements. I wrote down the pin outs with the matching wire color. I turned on the power switch the knob of the broken element , it started to spark and it tripped the
    Main 40 amp breaker. I took it part again to check for any black marks and didn't any. I put back to together how it was. It didn't blow the Main breaker .the element that was broken works but the dual element does not work. Could I have blown a breaker on the stove or shorted out the element, rendering it useless?
     
  2. May 9, 2012 #2

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hi,

    Make, model#?
    http://www.applianceaid.com/model.html Some model# helps.

    Knob or switch?

    Which element where you working on and which is now not working?

    jeff.
     
  3. May 9, 2012 #3

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a kenmore. The small top burner but now the double burner does not work
     
  4. May 10, 2012 #4

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
  5. May 11, 2012 #5

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Model number is 1015398 from the back off the stove
    Thanks
    Richard
     
  6. May 12, 2012 #6

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Model#'s are normally not on the back...they are accessible from the front...

    [​IMG]

    jeff.
     
  7. May 22, 2012 #7

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Jeff
    The model # C970 655821
    Serial # NF 43212458
    Thanks
    Richard
     
  8. May 22, 2012 #8

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Crap, a Canadain Kenmore.....Canadian models #'s ( esp dept store brands ) are not online so we cannot look up much for them.
    970. is a Frigidaire built Kenmore.

    Maybe we can try with the part# you purchased.

    Normally no breakers in the range ( exception is often the kettle outlet plug ). If just the switch was replaced, possible the wires got mixed up damaging the switch for the element on that same side ( left or right ).

    jeff.
     
  9. May 23, 2012 #9

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I match all the wires to its corresponding colours for example L1 white, P blue, H1 white with blk tape ( to distinguish between whites) H2 white L2 black. The new part # 318293810. I upload two picture of the original control swt. I don't know if this will help.
    Thanks Jeff

    Richard

    image-186896865.jpg

    image-1281463308.jpg
     
  10. May 23, 2012 #10

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's the element on the bottom right that is broken now but the element on top right is the one I fixed. It's working as it should( top right) The bottom right element red indicator light is always on but is not warm nor hot to the touch. All I can think of is its a dead short to the right element. Indicating a hot surface with no heat to the ceramic top.
    Thanks
    Richard
     
  11. May 23, 2012 #11

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    You replaced the black switch?

    New one should be like...

    [​IMG]

    I am concerned the wires got mixed up, wrong "line" in the wrong spot can cause a short through the pilot light.

    Black and red should be the L1 and L2, H1 and H2 are normally the white from the element and the blue is pilot light. The L feeds the pilot light and the red and black cannot be mixed up.

    Wire diagram on the back of the range in an envelope? If yes, post a copy or email a copy so we can have a peek.

    jeff.
     
  12. May 30, 2012 #12

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I found.

    image-1070081287.jpg

    image-3375064776.jpg

    image-2067606766.jpg

    image-2755637684.jpg
     
  13. May 30, 2012 #13

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    The before wiring colours was an example. This is how I actually wired it. L red, p blue. H1 white h2 white and l2 black
    Thanks
    Richard
     
  14. May 30, 2012 #14

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I got the the red and black mixed up. Would that cause a short circuit?
     
  15. May 31, 2012 #15

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Different to the first one you mentioned, the second certainly looks to be correct from the wire diagrams.

    It can through the pilots lights yes. See how the L1 feeds the pilots, if accidentally the L2 feed a pilot and both switchs where turned on it could cause a short and possible dmaage one or both switches.

    jeff.
     
  16. Jun 2, 2012 #16

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I switch l1 to blk and l2 to red
     
  17. Jun 2, 2012 #17

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a new swt. Should that solve my problem?
     
  18. Jun 3, 2012 #18

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Were not there to check it out but that certainly sounds like a good idea.....looks like all the switches are wired like that from the diagram pic.

    Maybe check and redo the wiring before replacing anything and see what happens.

    jeff.
     
  19. Jun 4, 2012 #19

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Rich55

    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks Jeff
     

Share This Page