Changing digital thermostat

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by tractng, Aug 9, 2008.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Aug 9, 2008 #1

    tractng

    tractng

    tractng

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    Guys,


    I am looking to replace the digital thermostat for our AC/heater unit in the house.

    Do I need to turn the power off for the entire house?

    I am looking for a controller that we can set on a 7 days basis where it goes on at a certain time (not just degree).


    Tnt
     
  2. Aug 10, 2008 #2

    Blue Jay

    Blue Jay

    Blue Jay

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    25
    No need to turn off the whole house, just turn off the breakers for the unit (A.C. /Heater) and then you would not trigger anything to scramble it's brain.
     
  3. Aug 11, 2008 #3

    Charlie

    Charlie

    Charlie

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Switching from a traditional thermostat to a digital can make a big difference. As Blue Jay said you only need to disable the breakers for the actual AC/Heater unit, but when it doubt it is better to air on the side of caution, so if you are at all unsure of which one it is, cut all the power.
     
  4. Aug 11, 2008 #4

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778
    Likes Received:
    256
    No need to turn off any breakers.
    The T-Stat is powered by a 120/24VAC transformer.
    Flip the service switch located on the unit, to off or simply remove the panels from the unit. This will cut power to the transformer.
     

Share This Page