Compound mitre saw

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blue Jay

Reaction score
I have a Dewalt 12" compound miter saw, only a couple of times would I have used a slider.
My use was to build a log home.

Hello first post! My question is i am looking to buy a mitre saw but i dont know witch to buy. I am looking at the dewalt from lowes but they have all different sizes. I want a double bevel saw but i dont think i want the sliding one. I wan to buy the one that i will use fore a long time the main purpose for buying it is to build a new front and back porch and other projects later on. help is dewalt a good brand? or would something else work just as good for less? I am a mechanic by trade and know nothing about carpentry Please help.

I can't advise on brands, but I have a Ridgid 12", and I like it. I use the sliding feature all the time, especially for wide trim pieces (e.g large crown molding, exterior fascia). BTW, I bought a refurb, and it was in basically brand-new condition when I got it. I highly recommend that you consider one and use your "savings" to upgrade to a nicer saw. Not sure about the linking policy, but a Google search will turn up sources.

Matt

I have a Dewalt 12" compound miter saw, only a couple of times would I have used a slider.
My use was to build a log home.

Thats what i needed to know.. I think i am going to get the 12 inch double bevel saw..

I bought the dewalt Dw716 and this thing works great.. I also bought the rockwell jaw horse with the miter saw adpter and i love this stuff works great together. I now look forward to doing home remodeling projects...

I own three differant brand compound saws.
Hitichi 12" double bevel, with slide (super saw, powerful, will cut up to 12" in one pass, great when trying to cut things like wide rim joist, soild stair treads, porch fasha boards.