Copper Tube Soldering Problems

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1victorianfarmhouse

Established Member
Reaction score
Okay, so I'm in the process of replacing some old valves in preparation for adding a new water softener bought from a contributor on this list.

I'm new at soldering, but have been soldering with electrics for decades, so it's not that different. Of more than three dozen joints I've made, I have two that are leaking. One leak is horizontal, the other is vertical. Not huge, but enough, especially since they are on the line that goes from the well to the softener.

With every joint I sanded the tubing and fluxed both the inlet and outlet. I use a basic propane torch and solder, both bought at Menards.

I heat up the joint, then let the solder flow into it, just like I've seen on several videos. On these two joints, after they leaked, I resanded, cleaned them with alcohol and refluxed them, but did not take them apart. It seems that no matter how hot the joint gets (other joints six inches away start to soften) , the solder doesn't want to flow into it.

What happened? Do I need to remove these two and start over from scratch?

Is it contaminated somehow?

Thanks!

vince

Sounds like you have water in the line where you are trying to solder. Need to get all water away from the area (at least 3" on vertical) not a torch made that will the joint hot enough/

Interesting, and thanks!

I noticed the leaks once I turned the water on, should be interesting trying get the water out of the pipe now, it's about 6" vertical and 18" horizontal.

But now i know what to do...

vince

You need to take them apart, clean up the mating surfaces and reapply the flux.
It's the flux that draws the solder into the joint.