Deck Renovation

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richard_2btrue

Reaction score
My deck covering has worn away as shown in attachment. The covering was not reccomended anyway because it harboured damp. Under the carpet like cover are boards. The deck is some 9 feet above ground level supportd by posts. How can I renovate the surface? I would like to use standard decking wood but I am new to decks and would I have to remove the boards, or could the decking be fixed to the boards? What products might be suitable?

Also the other attachment shows the deck rails which could also do with replacement. Any idea how involved this project might get for a non professional?

P3170004.jpg

P3170005.jpg

Isn't that plywood [look from underneath]?

Well, there's no ground contact so pressure treated wood is not req'd.

[ame=http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&client=safari&rls=en&q=exterior+deck+wood&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=]exterior deck wood - Google Search[/ame]

If I can find the thing I'll post my files of time spent & material qty for recovering decks.

Last edited:
The important peice of information required is what is underneath the deck supporting the plywood. Depending on the size of the deck, there should be 2x8 or 2x10 or 2x12 beams holding up the plywood. My decks have always had these supports spaced 12 inches apart. The deck boards are then laid perpendicular to the supports and nailed or screwed into the supports.

Can you determine what size the supports are and the spacing of the supports?

Are you wanting to replace the covering over the plywood, just finish the plywood, or remove the plywood and install boards?

I have tried using a stud locator but it wont work so will have to remove some of the finishing material from under the deck to see how the beams are spaced.