Doorbell voltage?

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by drewdin, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. Jan 4, 2013 #1

    drewdin

    drewdin

    drewdin

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    38
    I am curious if there is a standard voltage for doorbells? I did a quick google search and I have seen 24vdc, 30vdc, etc... I didn't know if there was one standard voltage? Thanks
     
  2. Jan 4, 2013 #2

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    I thought most of them were AC not DC and 16 or 24 volts.
     
  3. Jan 4, 2013 #3

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    I think 24vac is the most common voltage. Mine is 16vac but, measures 19vac. The transformer (volts & ac/dc) all depends on the manufacture of the doorbell.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
  4. Jan 4, 2013 #4

    drewdin

    drewdin

    drewdin

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    38
    Thanks, I have a 110/24vdc power supply lying around and I wanted to use it to power the doorbell.
     
  5. Jan 4, 2013 #5

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    DC may work for a simple conventional doorbell but you may need to make or buy a dropping resistor to get rated life from the bell.
    In addition, if the bell has moving contacts they won't last as long switching DC, but then you could put an arc-suppression network across the contacts.
    And you may want to fuse the DC to limit the power/energy it can deliver.
    This is getting pretty messy pretty fast. :eek:

    Try to get the specs on your bell and/or post photos of the gizzards before hooking up the 24 vdc.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
  6. Jan 4, 2013 #6

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,898
    Likes Received:
    3,118
    The bell or chime should have voltage marked on it and it should be AC.
     
  7. Jan 4, 2013 #7

    drewdin

    drewdin

    drewdin

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    38
    right now there is a transformer connected to the panel and running low voltage to the existing doorbell. I'll have to get my meter and measure the voltage coming out of the transformer. I have a pretty nice switching power supply that converts the 110 down to 24vdc that I would like to use in place of the crappy transformer if I can. I'll check it tonight and post some pics, thanks.
     
  8. Jan 4, 2013 #8

    thomask

    thomask

    thomask

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    In Beverly Hills...Like Jed used to say "there goes that music again in the walls" and I tell you somebody is going to be at the door...it's magic!
     

Share This Page