Ductwork

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

txgrl74

Reaction score

Hello,
I am new to this, and am doing it myself so..! LOL I have 3 questions about my Ductwork, and there is a "layout", if you will, of the duct work description at the end of this!

First of all, I know my A/C or central unit is brand new and is working, but I think the duct work may/is laid out wrong.

I have sealed/caulked and insulated all of the ducts, (2) Y's and the plenum.

But, my daughter's room which is in the front of the house (North West side) is not getting enough cool air so I know it will be cold in there this winter. I have had to cover the West facing window in her room with foil just to try and help with the heat in the afternoons.

I have tried adjusting the air flow to all the vents but it is not helping.

The Front room measures (13' 6" X 8' 6"). There is a 6-inch duct to vent in the center of her room and is Y's off of an 8-inch duct (round). The other end of the Y is over my bed and is a 6-inch duct (My room is 17' 7" X 13' 11").

There are 7 other ducts in the house (full description is at the end of this message).

The two in the living room which runs parallel to the line that goes into the bedrooms. (To the East) An 8-inch duct that Y's off into 2 6-inch ducts.

The other 5 of them are 6-inch ducts that are direct from the plenum.

2 of the 5 are almost directly over the return to the unit. (Bad design I know!)

This is a rent house so I will not be "moving" the vents. But I was wondering:

1.) Should the duct work should be a different size?
2.) Should it be attached to the plenum differently? (I.E. should the 8 inch line not Y off into the Master, and just go down into a 6-inch directly to the Front bedroom)