DW & GD wiring

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by shan2themax, May 15, 2008.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. May 15, 2008 #1

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    9
    another question while I have computer access.... I wired my dw to a gfci and from there ran wire to a switch for the GD and then the GD to the switch... no power though.... this is what i am thinking....
    I understood that line out was to protect circuits downstream.... but I was readin more on here... and it talks more about other receptecles.... so... should I have had the power into the load and the switch out from line? I believe I have it the opposite way... (this is something I am checking along with the light in my other post, sometime over the next few days) I belive that line from the wall is in the line position and that I have the line to the switch in the load position with the dishwasher plugged into the gfci and the dishwasher wired to the switch......
     
  2. May 15, 2008 #2

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Square Eye

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    10
    Line = In from breaker
    Load = Out to other devices
     
  3. May 15, 2008 #3

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    9
    I actually had it wired correctly... I moved the dw out from under the counter a little bit so that I could see the gfci and saw that it was just tripped..... so... they are both working well... (and now I have a little bit of an ego that I did it right the first time... heheheh)
    see... you guys have taught me well
     
  4. May 15, 2008 #4

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Way to go Shan!!!!
    One little caution though, electric motors such as in your dishwasher will sometimes trip a GFCI every time they kick on.
    We are proud of you.
    Glenn
     
  5. May 15, 2008 #5

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    9
    glenn... I did read that... and i would like to maybe put the receptacle where I can see it better without moving things... but I just do not want to at this point) only because I am burnt out
     
  6. May 16, 2008 #6

    Parrothead

    Parrothead

    Parrothead

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a silly question- why do you have the dishwasher GFCI protected??? You don't need to do that. It will probably lead to a lot of nuisance tripping. The only receptacles in a kitchen that are required by code to be GFCI protected are the ones serving the countertops.
     
  7. May 17, 2008 #7

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    shan2themax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    9
    Because it is near where water comes in for the dw and makes me feel more secure......... (and pretty much where I live not much code exists.....)
     
  8. May 18, 2008 #8

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    277
    Put in a GFCI breaker instead or find another receptcle closer to the breaker and easier to check and reset. Who wants to be pulling out the dishwasher to check a GFCI.
     

Share This Page