Fireplace and HVAC unit bumping heads

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by Billbill84, Jan 15, 2020 at 9:13 AM.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating:

  1. Jan 15, 2020 at 9:13 AM #1

    Billbill84

    Billbill84

    Billbill84

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Crown Point
    Good morning everyone.
    So I have a little annoying dilemma on my hands with the fireplace and HVAC system.
    Problem is is that when it's cold out like last night (30 but felt like 20 degrees), I have the fireplace on and the fireplace fan is set to a setting that's quite yet continuous once the fireplace reaches a certain temp.

    The problem: When my fireplace is on for a while the rest of the house gets pretty cold except for the main floor that has the fireplace. It dawned on me that the furnace isn't kicking on as often because the thermostat is being satisfied by the fireplace.

    Is there a way around this and what are some methods to tackle this one? A second thermostat on the second floor that somehow communicates with the main floor thermostat to say "hey it's getting cold up here so u must turn on"?
     
  2. Jan 15, 2020 at 9:58 AM #2

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24,700
    Likes Received:
    3,359
    Location:
    Chiliwack BC Canada
    Just put another another in a basement wired in parallel so either could turn it on, you would have to figure out what temp in the basement would make for comfort on the second floor, Maybe you would need a switch between them so you only power one at a time.
     
    Billbill84 likes this.
  3. Jan 15, 2020 at 3:47 PM #3

    bud16415

    bud16415

    bud16415

    Fixer Upper Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    1,880
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    That’s the main way fireplaces save you money on heating. They make the rest of the house cold.


    The real solution is zoning and ether separate heat sources or a smart system of sending heat just to the zones needed. It is not to hard to do with hot water heat.


    If you do as Neal suggests that will work but the room with the fireplace will then get really warm as it will be heated both ways.
     
    Billbill84 likes this.
  4. Jan 15, 2020 at 5:08 PM #4

    Jeff Handy

    Jeff Handy

    Jeff Handy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Illinois
    If you don’t want to invest in changing your furnace to zones, you can just set the furnace blower to ON while using the fireplace.
    Some thermostats have dropped the always on setting, so buy a new one if needed.
    Get a wifi one while you are at it.
    Control it from your phone or computer while away.

    That ON setting will push and pull air to mix evenly all over the house.

    So the fireplace heat will get spread out, and the furnace will come on to heat as needed.
     
    Billbill84 and bud16415 like this.
  5. Jan 15, 2020 at 7:07 PM #5

    bud16415

    bud16415

    bud16415

    Fixer Upper Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,319
    Likes Received:
    1,880
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    :I agree: Great idea!
     
  6. Jan 16, 2020 at 1:22 AM #6

    Billbill84

    Billbill84

    Billbill84

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Crown Point
    This is a great idea to try. I never touched the thermostat blower it's always on auto, so next time I'm running the fireplace I'll switch it to on and see if that improves the issue before I invest into a awesome zoned system.

    I'm wondering if the "always cold upstairs 2nd floor above main" is a separate issue or if it's only cold because the main and basement floors get heated much quicker resulting in the thermostat being satisfied and shutting down before upstairs can get heated enough. Part 2 of this experiment will be to crank the thermostat up and see if it improves the 2nd floor, if so then I know what's going on with the thermostat.
     
  7. Jan 16, 2020 at 4:32 AM #7

    Jeff Handy

    Jeff Handy

    Jeff Handy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Illinois
    The upstairs is cold because the ductwork and dampers are likely unbalanced.

    Just choke back the registers on the main floor, especially near the thermostat.

    Don’t close any return vents.

    Partially closing registers on main floor will push more hot air upstairs.

    I think we already went over this same issue with you several months ago.
     
  8. Jan 16, 2020 at 1:57 PM #8

    68bucks

    68bucks

    68bucks

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ecobee thermostats have remote sensors you can place is other rooms in addition to the main stat. They detect movement and will control the furnace to keep occupied areas at the correct temp. If there are people in more than one area I believe it will try to average them. It also has the ability to program the the blower to run for a while each hour to circulate air to even things out. It's wifi of course. Might help your problem but I'd just choke off the vents in that area and push the furnace air to the colder rooms.
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page